The Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ 1955 Season

Season Summary

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1955 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1955 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 0 2 0 0 26 51 L2 0-2-0
Regular Season 16 7 9 0 14 210 195 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 128 93 L1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 82 102 L1 3-3-0

Full 1955 League Standings

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1955 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.516 4-4-0 (8) 3-5-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1955 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Attendance

  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Total: 127,727
  • High: 18,884
  • Avg: 15,965 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1954 Avg: -1,122
  • Low: 14,464
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 81.21
  • Diff from League Avg: +14,545

More 1955 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19551954 +/-
Average Combined Score 25.31 0.81 +
Average Winning Score 19.57 3.32 +
Average Losing Score 8.11 0.22 -
Average Home Score 16.00 0.25 +
Average Visitor Score 10.25 0.75 +
Average Margin of Victory 11.86 1.61 +
Average Margin of Loss 7.56 4.11 -

Stadium

  • 1955 home stadium: Winnipeg Stadium
  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1955 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 273057 352257 581775 81321 128 (16.0)82 (10.3)210 (13.1)
Opponent 213152 201333 271946 253964 102 (12.8)93 (11.6)195 (12.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (2-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (3-4-0)
After 2nd 6 (3-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 11 (5-6-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (7-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1955 Player Awards and Nominations

1955 Most Outstanding
  • Canadian Player — Gerry James (Division Finalist)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1955 All-Star Selections

6 All-Division Selections
HB Gerry James
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
T Robert “Buddy” Tinsley, Jr.
DT Dick Huffman
DG Floyd Harrawood
DHB Tom Casey

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
B 4
Sat. Aug. 13
HAM 22 @ WPG 20 L 15,829
5
Mon. Aug. 15
TOR 29 @ WPG 6 L 15,726
1 6
Sat. Aug. 20
WPG 7 @ SSK 17 L 14,000
9
Mon. Aug. 22
EDM 13 @ WPG 9 L 16,835
2 13
Mon. Aug. 29
CGY 15 @ WPG 13 L 15,499
3 15
Sat. Sept. 3
BC 15 @ WPG 7 L 16,458
17
Mon. Sept. 5
WPG 9 @ CGY 12 L 13,000
4 21
Mon. Sept. 12
SSK 0 @ WPG 25 W 16,133
5 22
Sat. Sept. 17
WPG 20 @ BC 19 W 27,132
24
Mon. Sept. 19
WPG 8 @ EDM 14 L 12,500
6 26
Sat. Sept. 24
WPG 7 @ SSK 12 L 10,857
29
Mon. Sept. 26
CGY 6 @ WPG 25 W 14,724
7 31
Sat. Oct. 1
EDM 0 @ WPG 12 W 18,884
8 35
Sat. Oct. 8
WPG 13 @ CGY 12 W 12,000
36
Mon. Oct. 10
WPG 18 @ BC 4 W 21,429
10 40
Sat. Oct. 22
WPG 0 @ EDM 12 L 16,000
42
Mon. Oct. 24
BC 13 @ WPG 24 W 14,730
11 45
Sat. Oct. 29
SSK 31 @ WPG 13 L 14,464
P1 46
Sat. Nov. 5
WPG 16 @ SSK 7 W 9,000 RDS
47
Mon. Nov. 7
SSK 9 @ WPG 8 L 12,768
P2 48
Fri. Nov. 11
EDM 29 @ WPG 6 L 15,553
49
Wed. Nov. 16
WPG 6 @ EDM 26 L 12,000