The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 Season

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 0 2 0 0 17 56 L2 0-2-0
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 315 228 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 155 79 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 160 149 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (3-4-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (3-7-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
C
Tue. Aug. 14 8:30 PM
WPG 10 @ HAM 22 L 10,000  
C
Thu. Aug. 16
WPG 7 @ MTL 34 L 20,116  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
2
Sat. Aug. 25
WPG 16 @ SSK 28 L 13,000  
2
Mon. Aug. 27
CGY 15 @ WPG 16 W 16,687  
3
Fri. Aug. 31
BC 1 @ WPG 3 W 15,727  
3
Mon. Sept. 3
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 L 15,000  
4
Mon. Sept. 10
SSK 0 @ WPG 35 W 17,546  
5
Sat. Sept. 15
WPG 6 @ CGY 16 L 12,789  
5
Mon. Sept. 17
WPG 16 @ BC 15 W 27,502  
6
Sat. Sept. 22
SSK 24 @ WPG 7 L 19,035  
7
Sat. Sept. 29
WPG 37 @ CGY 14 W 12,000  
7
Mon. Oct. 1
BC 7 @ WPG 34 W 16,467  
8
Sat. Oct. 6
EDM 7 @ WPG 10 W 18,700  
8
Mon. Oct. 8
WPG 14 @ SSK 26 L 15,517  
9
Sat. Oct. 13
WPG 40 @ BC 8 W 26,300  
9
Mon. Oct. 15
WPG 11 @ EDM 21 L 20,000  
10
Sat. Oct. 20
CGY 25 @ WPG 17 L 15,922  
11
Sat. Oct. 27
EDM 0 @ WPG 33 W 14,409  
P1
Sat. Nov. 3
WPG 7 @ SSK 42 L 13,000  
P1
Mon. Nov. 5
SSK 8 @ WPG 19 W 13,348  

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 6-2-0 (8) 3-5-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.94 +8.62
Average Winning Score 24.89 +5.32
Average Losing Score 13.00 +4.89
Average Home Score 19.38 +3.38
Average Visitor Score 20.00 +9.75
Average Margin of Victory 17.44 +5.59
Average Margin of Loss 10.00 +2.44

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 424385 4964113 192544 452873 155 (19.4)160 (20.0)315 (19.7)
Opponent 101121 264167 365288 74552 149 (18.6)79 (9.9)228 (14.3)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Bob McNamara (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Vaughn “Buddy” Alliston, Jr. (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Roger Savoie (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
HB Bob McNamara
E Harold “Bud” Grant
C George Druxman (Tie)
G Vaughn “Buddy” Alliston, Jr.
T Robert “Buddy” Tinsley, Jr.

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8)   John Bodrug (C) Toronto
2–8 (17)   Bill Tuchon (G) Western Ontario
3–8 (26)   Harry Wilson (QB) Toronto
4–8 (33)   Jim Rowney (G) Toronto

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements