The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 36 27 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 406 300 W4 5-1-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 200 152 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 206 148 W3 5-1-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 8 (7-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu Aug 1
HAM 21 @ WPG 0 L 11,200  
B
Sat Aug 10
OTT 6 @ WPG 36 W 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 15
EDM 21 @ WPG 14 L 18,029  
2
Sat Aug 24
WPG 7 @ SSK 3 W 12,500  
3
Fri Aug 30
BC 14 @ WPG 20 W 16,442  
3
Mon Sep 2
WPG 8 @ EDM 41 L 17,000  
4
Sat Sep 7
SSK 29 @ WPG 35 W 15,975  
5
Sat Sep 14
WPG 40 @ CGY 13 W 16,000  
5
Mon Sep 16
WPG 41 @ BC 21 W 22,218  
6
Sat Sep 21
CGY 7 @ WPG 30 W 18,322  
7
Mon Sep 30
EDM 27 @ WPG 28 W 20,253  
8
Sat Oct 5
WPG 0 @ EDM 41 L 16,000  
8
Mon Oct 7
WPG 37 @ SSK 3 W 8,500  
9
Sat Oct 12
BC 22 @ WPG 16 L 14,700  
10
Sat Oct 19
WPG 31 @ CGY 7 W 10,000  
10
Mon Oct 21
SSK 19 @ WPG 27 W 14,186  
11
Mon Oct 28
CGY 13 @ WPG 30 W 12,855  
12
Sat Nov 2
WPG 42 @ BC 19 W 17,695  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 9
CGY 13 @ WPG 13 T 12,392  
P1
Mon Nov 11
WPG 15 @ CGY 3 W 14,000  
P2
Sat Nov 16
EDM 7 @ WPG 19 W 13,849  
P2
Wed Nov 20
WPG 4 @ EDM 5 L 18,000  
P2
Sat Nov 23
WPG 17 @ EDM 2 OT W 20,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 30 1:00 PM
WPG 7 vs HAM 32 L 27,051 R/C, CBC

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.219

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 44.13 +10.19
Average Winning Score 30.67 +5.78
Average Losing Score 9.50 -3.50
Average Home Score 25.00 +5.62
Average Visitor Score 25.75 +5.75
Average Margin of Victory 16.08 -1.36
Average Margin of Loss 21.75 +11.75

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 454287 6243105 415394 5268120 200 (25.0)206 (25.8)406 (25.4)
Opponent 212445 623799 364076 334780 148 (18.5)152 (19.0)300 (18.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Kenny Ploen (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Herb Gray (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Gerry James (Winner)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 All-Star Selections

No Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1957.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Murdy Armstrong (HB) McGill
2–6 (15)   Russ Thomas (T) Queen's
3–6 (24)   Don Killinger (E) Western Ontario
4–6 (30)   Paul Dingle (E) McGill
5–6   Pass
6–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements