Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Aug 1 9:30 PM
HAM 21 @ WPG 0 L 11,200  
Ex
Sat Aug 10 9:30 PM
OTT 6 @ WPG 36 W 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 15 9:30 PM
EDM 21 @ WPG 14 L 18,029  
2
Sat Aug 24 4:00 PM
WPG 7 @ SSK 3 W 12,500  
3
Fri Aug 30 9:30 PM
BC 14 @ WPG 20 W 16,442  
3
Mon Sep 2 11:30 PM
WPG 8 @ EDM 41 L 17,000  
4
Sat Sep 7 9:30 PM
SSK 29 @ WPG 35 W 15,975  
5
Sat Sep 14 11:30 PM
WPG 40 @ CGY 13 W 16,000  
5
Mon Sep 16 11:30 PM
WPG 41 @ BC 21 W 22,218  
6
Sat Sep 21 3:40 PM
CGY 7 @ WPG 30 W 18,322  
7
Mon Sep 30 9:00 PM
EDM 27 @ WPG 28 W 20,253  
8
Sat Oct 5 11:30 PM
WPG 0 @ EDM 41 L 16,000  
8
Mon Oct 7 10:00 PM
WPG 37 @ SSK 3 W 8,500  
9
Sat Oct 12 3:30 PM
BC 22 @ WPG 16 L 14,700  
10
Sat Oct 19 11:30 PM
WPG 31 @ CGY 7 W 10,000  
10
Mon Oct 21 9:00 PM
SSK 19 @ WPG 27 W 14,186  
11
Mon Oct 28 9:00 PM
CGY 13 @ WPG 30 W 12,855  
12
Sat Nov 2 11:30 PM
WPG 42 @ BC 19 W 17,695  
Week Date/Time (EST ) Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 9 9:00 PM
CGY 13 @ WPG 13 T 12,392  
P1
Mon Nov 11 4:00 PM
WPG 15 @ CGY 3 W 14,000  
P2
Sat Nov 16 9:00 PM
EDM 7 @ WPG 19 W 13,849  
P2
Wed Nov 20 10:30 PM
WPG 4 @ EDM 5 L 18,000  
P2
Sat Nov 23 10:30 PM
WPG 17 @ EDM 2 OT W 20,000  
Week Date/Time (EST ) Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 30 1:00 PM
WPG 7 vs HAM 32 L 27,051 R/C, CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 406 300 W4 5-1-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 200 152 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 206 148 W3 5-1-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 8 (7-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.375
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.219
19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 44.13 +10.19
Average Winning Score 30.67 +5.78
Average Losing Score 9.50 -3.50
Average Home Score 25.00 +5.62
Average Visitor Score 25.75 +5.75
Average Margin of Victory 16.08 -1.36
Average Margin of Loss 21.75 +11.75
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total Winnipeg 200 (25.0) 206 (25.8) 406 (25.4)
Opponent 148 (18.5) 152 (19.0) 300 (18.8)
1st Winnipeg 45 (5.6) 42 (5.3) 87 (5.4)
Opponent 24 (3.0) 21 (2.6) 45 (2.8)
2nd Winnipeg 62 (7.8) 43 (5.4) 105 (6.6)
Opponent 37 (4.6) 62 (7.8) 99 (6.2)
3rd Winnipeg 41 (5.1) 53 (6.6) 94 (5.9)
Opponent 40 (5.0) 36 (4.5) 76 (4.8)
4th Winnipeg 52 (6.5) 68 (8.5) 120 (7.5)
Opponent 47 (5.9) 33 (4.1) 80 (5.0)
Head Coach
1957 Player Awards and Nominations
1957 Most Outstanding
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1957 All-Star Selections
6 All-Division Selections
QB Kenny Ploen
HB Gerry James
E Ernie “Zazu” Pitts
DT Robert “Buddy” Tinsley, Jr.
DE Herb Gray
SEC Gordie Rowland

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1957 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Murdy Armstrong (HB) McGill
2–6 (15)   Russ Thomas (T) Queen's
3–6 (24)   Don Killinger (E) Western Ontario
4–6 (30)   Paul Dingle (E) McGill
5–6   Pass
6–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2022. All rights reserved.

Server: Holloway