Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Jul 29 5:30 PM
WPG 7 @ MTL 40 L 21,347  
Ex
Thu Jul 31
WPG 15 @ TOR 22 L 12,584  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 14
EDM 21 @ WPG 29 W 18,166  
2
Thu Aug 21 10:00 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 21 L 13,233  
2
Mon Aug 25 11:30 PM
WPG 15 @ EDM 8 W 17,000  
3
Thu Aug 28
BC 1 @ WPG 31 W 16,611  
3
Mon Sep 1 5:30 PM
WPG 3 @ CGY 11 L 17,750  
4
Sat Sep 6
SSK 6 @ WPG 27 W 18,336  
5
Sat Sep 13 11:30 PM
WPG 20 @ CGY 7 W 15,700  
5
Mon Sep 15 11:30 PM
WPG 19 @ BC 8 W 20,000  
6
Sat Sep 20
CGY 9 @ WPG 36 W 20,059  
7
Mon Sep 29
EDM 13 @ WPG 43 W 18,559  
8
Sat Oct 4 11:30 PM
WPG 21 @ EDM 15 W 20,000  
8
Mon Oct 6 10:00 PM
WPG 14 @ SSK 13 W 11,581  
9
Sat Oct 11
BC 10 @ WPG 8 L 14,484  
10
Mon Oct 20
SSK 15 @ WPG 21 W 16,319  
11
Mon Oct 27
CGY 10 @ WPG 37 W 15,564  
12
Sat Nov 1
WPG 24 @ BC 14 W 18,918  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 15
WPG 30 @ EDM 7 W 17,000  
P2
Wed Nov 19
EDM 30 @ WPG 7 L 16,880  
P2
Sat Nov 22
EDM 7 @ WPG 23 W 15,671  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 29 4:00 PM
WPG 35 vs HAM 28 W 36,567 CBC, R/C
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 13 3 0 26 361 182 W3 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 232 85 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 129 97 W5 5-1-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (8-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (3-0-0)
After 2nd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (9-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (2-1-0)
After 3rd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.422 7-1-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.188
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.594
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500
19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.94 -10.19
Average Winning Score 25.92 -4.74
Average Losing Score 8.00 -1.50
Average Home Score 29.00 +4.00
Average Visitor Score 16.13 -9.62
Average Margin of Victory 15.15 -0.93
Average Margin of Loss 6.00 -15.75
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 384280 8927116 444387 611778 232 (29.0)129 (16.1)361 (22.6)
Opponent 242246 293059 12930 311647 97 (12.1)85 (10.6)182 (11.4)
Head Coach
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Player Awards and Nominations
1958 Most Outstanding
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 All-Star Selections
7 All-Division Selections
Coach Harold “Bud” Grant
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
DT Robert “Buddy” Tinsley, Jr.
DE Herb Gray
MG Steve Patrick
SEC Gordie Rowland
SEC Dave Burkholder

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1958 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   John Saundzelius (HB) McGill
2–7 (16)   Tom White (T) Western Ontario
3–7   Pass
4–7   Pass
5–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements