The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Season

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 0 2 0 0 22 62 L2 0-2-0
Regular Season 16 13 3 0 26 361 182 W3 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 232 85 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 129 97 W5 5-1-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 9 (8-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (3-0-0)
After 2nd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (9-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (2-1-0)
After 3rd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A
Tue. July 29
WPG 7 @ MTL 40 L 21,347  
A
Thu. July 31
WPG 15 @ TOR 22 L 12,584  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Thu. Aug. 14
EDM 21 @ WPG 29 W 18,166  
2
Thu. Aug. 21
WPG 13 @ SSK 21 L 13,233  
2
Mon. Aug. 25
WPG 15 @ EDM 8 W 17,000  
3
Thu. Aug. 28
BC 1 @ WPG 31 W 16,611  
3
Mon. Sept. 1
WPG 3 @ CGY 11 L 17,750  
4
Sat. Sept. 6
SSK 6 @ WPG 27 W 18,336  
5
Sat. Sept. 13
WPG 20 @ CGY 7 W 15,700  
5
Mon. Sept. 15
WPG 19 @ BC 8 W 20,000  
6
Sat. Sept. 20
CGY 9 @ WPG 36 W 20,059  
7
Mon. Sept. 29
EDM 13 @ WPG 43 W 18,559  
8
Sat. Oct. 4
WPG 21 @ EDM 15 W 20,000  
8
Mon. Oct. 6
WPG 14 @ SSK 13 W 11,581  
9
Sat. Oct. 11
BC 10 @ WPG 8 L 14,484  
10
Mon. Oct. 20
SSK 15 @ WPG 21 W 16,319  
11
Mon. Oct. 27
CGY 10 @ WPG 37 W 15,564  
12
Sat. Nov. 1
WPG 24 @ BC 14 W 18,918  
P2
Sat. Nov. 15
WPG 30 @ EDM 7 W 17,000  
P2
Wed. Nov. 19
EDM 30 @ WPG 7 L 16,880  
P2
Sat. Nov. 22
EDM 7 @ WPG 23 W 15,671  
Canadian Football League
GC
Sat. Nov. 29 4:00 PM
WPG 35 vs HAM 28 W 36,567 R/C, CBC

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.422 7-1-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.188
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.594
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500

Team Scoring

19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.94 -10.19
Average Winning Score 25.92 -4.74
Average Losing Score 8.00 -1.50
Average Home Score 29.00 +4.00
Average Visitor Score 16.13 -9.62
Average Margin of Victory 15.15 -0.93
Average Margin of Loss 6.00 -15.75

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 384280 8927116 444387 611778 232 (29.0)129 (16.1)361 (22.6)
Opponent 242246 293059 12930 311647 97 (12.1)85 (10.6)182 (11.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Player Awards and Nominations

1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Leo Lewis, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Steve Patrick (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Gordie Rowland (Division Finalist)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
Coach Harold “Bud” Grant
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
DT Robert “Buddy” Tinsley, Jr.
DE Herb Gray
MG Steve Patrick
SEC Gordie Rowland
SEC Dave Burkholder

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1958 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   John Saundzelius (HB) McGill
2–7 (16)   Tom White (T) Western Ontario
3–7   Pass
4–7   Pass
5–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway