The Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ 1959 Season

Season Summary

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 44 42 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 388 235 L2 4-2-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 179 116 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 209 119 L1 4-2-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1959 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Attendance

  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Total: 137,209
  • High: 18,928
  • Avg: 17,151 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1958 Avg: -111
  • Low: 14,279
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 87.24
  • Diff from League Avg: +12,866

More 1959 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.13 9.19 +
Average Winning Score 30.91 4.99 +
Average Losing Score 15.60 7.60 +
Average Home Score 26.13 2.88 -
Average Visitor Score 26.13 10.00 +
Average Margin of Victory 16.55 1.39 +
Average Margin of Loss 7.20 1.20 +

Stadium

  • 1959 home stadium: Winnipeg Stadium
  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1955 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 7546121 7178149 192544 4460104 209 (26.1)209 (26.1)418 (26.1)
Opponent 572481 402161 264268 303262 119 (14.9)153 (19.1)272 (17.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (8-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Van Pelt (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Herb Gray (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Steve Patrick (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9) Duncan Brodie (HB) Toronto
2–9 (18) Morgan Drever (G) Toronto
3–9 Pass
4–9 Pass

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 All-Star Selections

9 All-Division Selections
QB Jim Van Pelt
HB Charlie Shepard
E Ernie “Zazu” Pitts
G Ed Kotowich
T Frank Rigney
DE Herb Gray
MG Steve Patrick
ILB Garland Warren
DHB Kenny Ploen

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
B 4
Tue. Aug. 4
WPG 39 @ MTL 34 W 21,739
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
7
Thu. Aug. 6
HAM 8 @ WPG 5 L 18,025
1 8
Thu. Aug. 13
WPG 42 @ BC 20 W 29,425
2 10
Mon. Aug. 17
WPG 22 @ CGY 21 W 16,200
13
Thu. Aug. 20
CGY 23 @ WPG 21 L 18,333
3 16
Thu. Aug. 27
EDM 16 @ WPG 1 L 18,928
17
Sat. Aug. 29
WPG 61 @ SSK 8 W 12,000
4 20
Thu. Sept. 3
BC 23 @ WPG 34 W 18,003
5 21
Sat. Sept. 5
WPG 16 @ EDM 8 W 17,143
6 25
Sat. Sept. 12
SSK 14 @ WPG 41 W 15,962
7 27
Sat. Sept. 19
WPG 6 @ BC 17 L 32,061
29
Mon. Sept. 21
WPG 15 @ CGY 10 W 16,000
8 33
Mon. Sept. 28
EDM 10 @ WPG 13 W 17,707
9 36
Mon. Oct. 5
CGY 24 @ WPG 38 W 15,813
10 40
Mon. Oct. 12
WPG 27 @ SSK 14 W 8,000
11 42
Sat. Oct. 17
BC 6 @ WPG 31 W 18,184
43
Mon. Oct. 19
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 L 15,500
12 47
Mon. Oct. 26
SSK 37 @ WPG 30 FW 14,279
P2 50
Wed. Nov. 11
2:00 PM
WPG 19 @ EDM 11 W 16,000
51
Sat. Nov. 14
3:00 PM
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 W 15,872 CBC
Canadian Football League
GC 89
Sat. Nov. 28
1:00 PM
WPG 21 vs HAM 7 W 33,133 CBC