The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Season

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 44 42 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 388 235 L2 4-2-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 179 116 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 209 119 L1 4-2-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (8-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
B
Tue Aug 4
WPG 39 @ MTL 34 W 21,739  
B
Thu Aug 6
HAM 8 @ WPG 5 L 18,025  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 13
WPG 42 @ BC 20 W 29,425  
2
Mon Aug 17
WPG 22 @ CGY 21 W 16,200  
2
Thu Aug 20
CGY 23 @ WPG 21 L 18,333  
3
Thu Aug 27
EDM 16 @ WPG 1 L 18,928  
3
Sat Aug 29
WPG 61 @ SSK 8 W 12,000  
4
Thu Sep 3
BC 23 @ WPG 34 W 18,003  
5
Sat Sep 5
WPG 16 @ EDM 8 W 17,143  
6
Sat Sep 12
SSK 14 @ WPG 41 W 15,962  
7
Sat Sep 19
WPG 6 @ BC 17 L 32,061  
7
Mon Sep 21
WPG 15 @ CGY 10 W 16,000  
8
Mon Sep 28
EDM 10 @ WPG 13 W 17,707  
9
Mon Oct 5
CGY 24 @ WPG 38 W 15,813  
10
Mon Oct 12
WPG 27 @ SSK 14 W 8,000  
11
Sat Oct 17
BC 6 @ WPG 31 W 18,184  
11
Mon Oct 19
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 L 15,500  
12
Mon Oct 26
SSK 37 @ WPG 30 FW 14,279  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Wed Nov 11 2:00 PM
WPG 19 @ EDM 11 W 16,000  
P2
Sat Nov 14 3:00 PM
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 W 15,872 CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 28 1:00 PM
WPG 21 vs HAM 7 W 33,133 CBC

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.13 +9.19
Average Winning Score 30.91 +4.99
Average Losing Score 15.60 +7.60
Average Home Score 26.13 -2.88
Average Visitor Score 26.13 +10.00
Average Margin of Victory 16.55 +1.39
Average Margin of Loss 7.20 +1.20

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 7546121 7178149 192544 4460104 209 (26.1)209 (26.1)418 (26.1)
Opponent 572481 402161 264268 303262 119 (14.9)153 (19.1)272 (17.0)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Van Pelt (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Herb Gray (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Steve Patrick (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 All-Star Selections

No Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1959.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9)   Duncan Brodie (HB) Toronto
2–9 (18)   Morgan Drever (G) Toronto
3–9   Pass
4–9   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway