Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Aug 4 8:00 PM
WPG 39 @ MTL 34 W 21,739  
Ex
Thu Aug 6
HAM 8 @ WPG 5 L 18,025  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 13
WPG 42 @ BC 20 W 29,425  
2
Mon Aug 17 11:30 PM
WPG 22 @ CGY 21 W 16,200  
2
Thu Aug 20
CGY 23 @ WPG 21 L 18,333  
3
Thu Aug 27
EDM 16 @ WPG 1 L 18,928  
3
Sat Aug 29 4:00 PM
WPG 61 @ SSK 8 W 12,000  
4
Thu Sep 3
BC 23 @ WPG 34 W 18,003  
5
Sat Sep 5
WPG 16 @ EDM 8 W 17,143  
6
Sat Sep 12
SSK 14 @ WPG 41 W 15,962  
7
Sat Sep 19
WPG 6 @ BC 17 L 32,061  
7
Mon Sep 21 11:30 PM
WPG 15 @ CGY 10 W 16,000  
8
Mon Sep 28
EDM 10 @ WPG 13 W 17,707  
9
Mon Oct 5
CGY 24 @ WPG 38 W 15,813  
10
Mon Oct 12 4:00 PM
WPG 27 @ SSK 14 W 8,000  
11
Sat Oct 17
BC 6 @ WPG 31 W 18,184  
11
Mon Oct 19
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 L 15,500  
12
Mon Oct 26 8:00 PM
SSK 37 @ WPG 30 FW 14,279 CTVW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Wed Nov 11 2:00 PM
WPG 19 @ EDM 11 W 16,000  
P2
Sat Nov 14 3:00 PM
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 W 15,872 CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 28 1:00 PM
WPG 21 vs HAM 7 W 33,133 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1959.
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 388 235 L2 4-2-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 179 116 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 209 119 L1 4-2-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (8-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.13 +9.19
Average Winning Score 30.91 +4.99
Average Losing Score 15.60 +7.60
Average Home Score 26.13 -2.88
Average Visitor Score 26.13 +10.00
Average Margin of Victory 16.55 +1.39
Average Margin of Loss 7.20 +1.20
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 7546121 7178149 192544 4460104 209 (26.1)209 (26.1)418 (26.1)
Opponent 572481 402161 264268 303262 119 (14.9)153 (19.1)272 (17.0)
Head Coach
1959 Player Awards and Nominations
1959 Most Outstanding
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1959 All-Star Selections
9 All-Division Selections
QB Jim Van Pelt
HB Charlie Shepard
E Ernie “Zazu” Pitts
G Ed Kotowich
T Frank Rigney
DE Herb Gray
MG Steve Patrick
ILB Garland Warren
DHB Kenny Ploen

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1959 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9)   Duncan Brodie (HB) Toronto
2–9 (18)   Morgan Drever (G) Toronto
3–9   Pass
4–9   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements