The Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ 1962 Season

Season Summary

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 32 81 W1 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 385 291 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 159 130 L3 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 7 1 0 14 226 161 W3 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 7 5 0 14 274 217 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 111 74 W4 4-0-0

Full 1962 League Standings

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.492 2-4-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.455 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.438
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.679
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.393
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.464
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1962 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Attendance

  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Total: 126,692
  • High: 16,832
  • Avg: 15,836 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1961 Avg: -349
  • Low: 12,500
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 80.55
  • Diff from League Avg: -3,247

More 1962 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19621961 +/-
Average Combined Score 42.25 4.06 +
Average Winning Score 28.55 4.08 +
Average Losing Score 14.20 0.20 +
Average Home Score 19.88 5.38 -
Average Visitor Score 28.25 8.50 +
Average Margin of Victory 11.36 0.25 -
Average Margin of Loss 6.20 7.80 -

Stadium

  • 1962 home stadium: Winnipeg Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,652
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1962 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 313566 9147138 144963 2395118 159 (19.9)226 (28.3)385 (24.1)
Opponent 362056 254368 295281 404686 161 (20.1)130 (16.3)291 (18.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (6-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 2nd 7 (4-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 12 (9-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 Player Awards and Nominations

1962 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Leo Lewis, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Dave Burkholder (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Roger Savoie (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1962 in database.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1962 All-Star Selections

4 All-Canadian Selections
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
T Frank Rigney
DE Herb Gray
CLB Gordie Rowland
7 All-Division Selections
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
G Sherwyn Thorson
T Frank Rigney
DT Roger Savoie
DE Herb Gray
CLB Gordie Rowland
DHB Dick Thornton

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 5
Mon. July 23
OTT 14 @ WPG 15 W 13,125
B 8
Thu. July 26
WPG 0 @ MTL 53 L 18,000
D 12
Wed. Aug. 1
WPG 17 @ TOR 14 W 23,004
1 17
Thu. Aug. 9
EDM 20 @ WPG 16 L 16,832
2 19
Mon. Aug. 13
WPG 45 @ CGY 27 W 14,000
3 26
Thu. Aug. 23
TOR 13 @ WPG 33 W 16,700
4 31
Thu. Aug. 30
CGY 1 @ WPG 26 W 16,059
5 36
Mon. Sept. 3
WPG 30 @ SSK 7 W 16,663
6 38
Fri. Sept. 7
WPG 31 @ OTT 28 W 21,050
7 41
Mon. Sept. 10
WPG 16 @ HAM 10 W 26,363
8 47
Mon. Sept. 17
SSK 18 @ WPG 20 W 16,213
9 51
Mon. Sept. 24
WPG 22 @ BC 27 L 20,143
54
Thu. Sept. 27
MTL 23 @ WPG 31 W 16,528
10 61
Sat. Oct. 6
BC 18 @ WPG 6 L 16,060
11 66
Sat. Oct. 13
CGY 19 @ WPG 15 L 15,800
12 70
Sat. Oct. 20
WPG 30 @ EDM 20 W 14,000
13 73
Mon. Oct. 22
WPG 17 @ SSK 8 W 10,339
74
Sat. Oct. 27
WPG 35 @ BC 34 W 25,419
14 80
Sat. Nov. 3
EDM 18 @ WPG 12 L 12,500
P2 85
Sat. Nov. 17
WPG 14 @ CGY 20 L 17,230
87
Wed. Nov. 21
CGY 11 @ WPG 19 W 12,500
88
Sat. Nov. 24
3:30 PM
CGY 7 @ WPG 12 W 19,175
GC 90
Sat. Dec. 1
1:00 PM
WPG 28 vs HAM 27 W 32,655 R/C, CTV, CBC