The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 67 42 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 301 262 W5 5-1-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 161 145 W4 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 140 117 W2 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 220 197 W4 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 81 65 W1 3-1-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (4-2-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Tue Jul 13
WPG 29 @ MTL 7 W 14,923  
A
Thu Jul 15
WPG 7 @ OTT 26 L    
B
Tue Jul 20
HAM 0 @ WPG 25 W 13,334  
B
Fri Jul 23 10:00 PM
WPG 6 @ SSK 9 L 10,289  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Jul 30
WPG 21 @ EDM 14 W 16,123  
1
Wed Aug 4
BC 21 @ WPG 23 W 17,980  
3
Wed Aug 11
CGY 8 @ WPG 19 W 20,100  
4
Mon Aug 16
WPG 12 @ BC 6 W 36,457  
5
Wed Aug 25
SSK 25 @ WPG 6 L 22,486  
6
Thu Sep 2
BC 14 @ WPG 7 L 21,012  
7
Mon Sep 6
WPG 7 @ CGY 35 L 22,711  
8
Sat Sep 11
WPG 25 @ EDM 30 L 21,955  
9
Sun Sep 19
OTT 12 @ WPG 19 W 20,658  
10
Fri Sep 24
WPG 14 @ MTL 8 W 19,600  
10
Sun Sep 26 1:00 PM
WPG 22 @ TOR 24 L 17,364  
11
Sun Oct 3
HAM 21 @ WPG 26 W 16,542  
12
Mon Oct 11
SSK 20 @ WPG 21 W 19,285  
13
Sun Oct 17 4:00 PM
WPG 17 @ SSK 0 W 17,919  
14
Sat Oct 23
EDM 24 @ WPG 40 W 16,104  
15
Wed Oct 27
WPG 22 @ CGY 0 W 22,226  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 7
SSK 9 @ WPG 15 W 21,600  
P2
Sat Nov 13
WPG 9 @ CGY 27 L 21,226  
P2
Wed Nov 17
CGY 11 @ WPG 15 W 16,100  
P2
Sat Nov 20 4:00 PM
WPG 19 @ CGY 12 W 21,361 CTV, CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 27 1:00 PM
WPG 16 vs HAM 22 L 32,655 CTV, CBC

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.500 4-2-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 2-0-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.19 -6.50
Average Winning Score 21.27 -15.73
Average Losing Score 13.40 -2.53
Average Home Score 20.13 +5.12
Average Visitor Score 17.50 -1.25
Average Margin of Victory 9.09 -20.91
Average Margin of Loss 12.20 +0.99

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 116980 59463 314980 601878 161 (20.1)140 (17.5)301 (18.8)
Opponent 613495 361955 42428 444084 117 (14.6)145 (18.1)262 (16.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Player Awards and Nominations

1965 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Leo Lewis, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Allen Miller (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Billy Cooper (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 All-Star Selections

3 All-Canadian Selections
QB Kenny Ploen
T Frank Rigney
DHB Dick Thornton
7 All-Division Selections
QB Kenny Ploen
HB Dave Raimey (Tie)
G Herb Gray
T Frank Rigney
CLB Allen Miller
DHB Henry Janzen
DHB Dick Thornton

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Paul Desjardins (T) Ottawa
2–2 (11)   John Crouchman (LB) Queen's
3–2 (20)   Guy Potvin (HB) Queen's
4–2 (29)   Brian Hammerton (HB) Saskatchewan
5–2 (38)   John Poutie (HB) Manitoba
6–2 (46)   Ken Rekrutiak (FB) Manitoba
7–2 (53)   Clarence Kachman (HB) Alberta
8–2   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway