Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Tue Jul 13 8:05 PM
WPG 29 @ MTL 7 W 14,923  
Ex
Thu Jul 15
WPG 7 @ OTT 26 L    
Ex
Tue Jul 20
HAM 0 @ WPG 25 W 13,334  
Ex
Fri Jul 23 10:00 PM
WPG 6 @ SSK 9 L 10,289  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Jul 30 11:00 PM
WPG 21 @ EDM 14 W 16,123  
1
Wed Aug 4
BC 21 @ WPG 23 W 17,980  
3
Wed Aug 11
CGY 8 @ WPG 19 W 20,100  
4
Mon Aug 16
WPG 12 @ BC 6 W 36,457  
5
Wed Aug 25 9:00 PM
SSK 25 @ WPG 6 L 22,486  
6
Thu Sep 2
BC 14 @ WPG 7 L 21,012  
7
Mon Sep 6
WPG 7 @ CGY 35 L 22,711  
8
Sat Sep 11
WPG 25 @ EDM 30 L 21,955  
9
Sun Sep 19 3:00 PM
OTT 12 @ WPG 19 W 20,658 CBC
10
Fri Sep 24 8:05 PM
WPG 14 @ MTL 8 W 19,600  
10
Sun Sep 26 1:00 PM
WPG 22 @ TOR 24 L 17,364  
11
Sun Oct 3 3:30 PM
HAM 21 @ WPG 26 W 16,542 CTVE
12
Mon Oct 11 3:20 PM
SSK 20 @ WPG 21 W 19,285  
13
Sun Oct 17 4:00 PM
WPG 17 @ SSK 0 W 17,919  
14
Sat Oct 23 2:30 PM
EDM 24 @ WPG 40 W 16,104 CTVW
15
Wed Oct 27 11:00 PM
WPG 22 @ CGY 0 W 22,226  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 7 3:30 PM
SSK 9 @ WPG 15 W 21,600  
P2
Sat Nov 13 4:00 PM
WPG 9 @ CGY 27 L 21,226  
P2
Wed Nov 17
CGY 11 @ WPG 15 W 16,100  
P2
Sat Nov 20 4:00 PM
WPG 19 @ CGY 12 W 21,361 CTV, CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 27 1:00 PM
WPG 16 vs HAM 22 L 32,655 CTV, CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 301 262 W5 5-1-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 161 145 W4 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 140 117 W2 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 220 197 W4 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 81 65 W1 3-1-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (4-2-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.500 4-2-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 2-0-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.19 -6.50
Average Winning Score 21.27 -15.73
Average Losing Score 13.40 -2.53
Average Home Score 20.13 +5.12
Average Visitor Score 17.50 -1.25
Average Margin of Victory 9.09 -20.91
Average Margin of Loss 12.20 +0.99
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 116980 59463 314980 601878 161 (20.1)140 (17.5)301 (18.8)
Opponent 613495 361955 42428 444084 117 (14.6)145 (18.1)262 (16.4)
Head Coach
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 Player Awards and Nominations
1965 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Leo Lewis, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Allen Miller (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Billy Cooper (Team Nominee)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1965 All-Star Selections
3 All-Canadian Selections
QB Kenny Ploen
T Frank Rigney
DHB Dick Thornton
7 All-Division Selections
QB Kenny Ploen
HB Dave Raimey (Tie)
G Herb Gray
T Frank Rigney
CLB Allen Miller
DHB Henry Janzen
DHB Dick Thornton

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1965 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Paul Desjardins (T) Ottawa
2–2 (11)   John Crouchman (LB) Queen's
3–2 (20)   Guy Potvin (HB) Queen's
4–2 (29)   Brian Hammerton (HB) Saskatchewan
5–2 (38)   John Poutie (HB) Manitoba
6–2 (46)   Ken Rekrutiak (FB) Manitoba
7–2 (53)   Clarence Kachman (HB) Alberta
8–2   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway