The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 58 58 W1 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 264 230 W3 3-2-1
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 155 93 W2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 3 4 1 7 109 137 W1 2-3-1
   Divisional opponent 12 7 4 1 15 191 169 W3 3-2-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 73 61 L2 1-3-0

Full 1966 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (3-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-3-1) 7 (4-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (3-3-1)
After 2nd 8 (5-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-1-1) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 10 (5-4-1) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (1-3-1) 7 (6-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (2-5-1)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri Jul 15
WPG 28 @ EDM 27 W 10,000  
B
Mon Jul 18
OTT 17 @ WPG 10 L 12,704  
C
Mon Jul 25
HAM 14 @ WPG 20 W 14,495  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 2
EDM 7 @ WPG 26 W 15,112  
2
Sun Aug 7
WPG 14 @ SSK 38 L 20,009  
2
Fri Aug 12
WPG 10 @ EDM 9 W 17,557  
3
Thu Aug 18
WPG 11 @ BC 7 W 33,697  
4
Tue Aug 23
CGY 9 @ WPG 19 W 20,812  
5
Wed Aug 31
MTL 4 @ WPG 2 L 20,510 CTV
7
Sun Sep 11
SSK 27 @ WPG 24 L 21,655  
8
Sat Sep 17
WPG 8 @ CGY 11 L 18,080  
9
Wed Sep 21
TOR 9 @ WPG 43 W 17,112 CTV
10
Tue Sep 27
CGY 16 @ WPG 9 L 15,107  
10
Sun Oct 2
WPG 11 @ SSK 11 T 19,045  
11
Sat Oct 8
WPG 21 @ OTT 40 L 19,685 CBC
11
Mon Oct 10
WPG 7 @ HAM 8 L 23,662  
12
Sun Oct 16
EDM 14 @ WPG 16 W 19,020 CTV
13
Sun Oct 23
BC 7 @ WPG 16 W 16,772 CTV
14
Sun Oct 30
WPG 27 @ BC 13 W 24,103 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 6
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 W 15,463  
P2
Sun Nov 13
WPG 7 @ SSK 14 L 14,013  
P2
Wed Nov 16
SSK 21 @ WPG 19 L 13,624  

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.430 4-2-0 (6) 3-2-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.571 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.594
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.643
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.500
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.357

Team Scoring

19661965 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.88 -4.31
Average Winning Score 21.00 -0.27
Average Losing Score 12.14 -1.26
Average Home Score 19.38 -0.75
Average Visitor Score 13.63 -3.88
Average Margin of Victory 11.63 +2.53
Average Margin of Loss 8.43 -3.77

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 281341 522981 275178 481664 155 (19.4)109 (13.6)264 (16.5)
Opponent 183553 124153 253762 382462 137 (17.1)93 (11.6)230 (14.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 Player Awards and Nominations

1966 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Dave Raimey (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Phil Minnick (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ken Nielsen (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 All-Star Selections

4 All-Canadian Selections
HB Dave Raimey
T Frank Rigney (Tie)
CLB Phil Minnick
DHB Ed Ulmer, Jr.
5 All-Division Selections
HB Dave Raimey*
T Frank Rigney
CLB Phil Minnick
DHB Ernie “Zazu” Pitts
DHB Ed Ulmer, Jr.

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1966 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8)   Tom Feasby (HB) Manitoba
2–8 (17)   Kris Schmidt (HB) Alberta
3–8 (26)   Jack Green (E) McMaster
4–8 (35)   Bob Akman (FL) Manitoba
5–8 (43)   Vince Thompson (HB) Ottawa
6–8 (49)   Pete Howlett (FB) McGill
7–8   Pass
8–8   Pass
9–8   Pass
10–8   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway