Season Summary

  • Finished 5th in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Mon Jul 8 8:00 PM
WPG 14 @ MTL 33 L 15,000  
Ex
Wed Jul 10
WPG 1 @ TOR 35 L 20,784  
Ex
Mon Jul 15
EDM 24 @ WPG 13 L 5,000  
Ex
Mon Jul 22
OTT 43 @ WPG 35 L 10,700  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 30
BC 18 @ WPG 16 L 14,395  
1
Sun Aug 4 4:00 PM
WPG 8 @ SSK 27 L 16,465  
2
Sun Aug 11 5:00 PM
WPG 8 @ CGY 43 L 17,027  
3
Sun Aug 18
CGY 31 @ WPG L 11,248  
4
Sun Aug 25
WPG 17 @ BC 10 W 23,638  
6
Wed Sep 4
WPG 17 @ OTT 24 L 20,151  
6
Sun Sep 8
MTL 21 @ WPG 15 L 21,500  
7
Sun Sep 15 4:00 PM
WPG 3 @ SSK 31 L 16,136  
8
Sun Sep 22
EDM 13 @ WPG 25 W 13,000  
9
Sun Sep 29 3:30 PM
TOR 15 @ WPG 9 L 17,012 CTV
10
Sat Oct 5
WPG 13 @ HAM 23 L 18,123  
11
Sun Oct 13
EDM 22 @ WPG 8 L 12,000  
12
Sat Oct 19
WPG 14 @ BC 16 L 20,040  
13
Wed Oct 23
SSK 24 @ WPG 7 L 10,000  
13
Sun Oct 27
WPG 22 @ EDM 32 L 15,011  
14
Sun Nov 3 3:30 PM
CGY 24 @ WPG 28 W 12,000 CTVW
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1968.
Regular Season 16 3 13 0 6 210 374 W1 1-5-0
    Home 8 2 6 0 4 108 168 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 102 206 L5 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 3 9 0 6 156 291 W1 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 0 4 0 0 54 83 L4 0-4-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 5 (2-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (1-10-0)
After 2nd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 14 (2-12-0)
After 3rd 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 5 (1-4-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (2-9-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (0-13-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.555 2-4-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.527 0-2-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.625
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.531
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.781
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.714
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.643
19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.50 -2.62
Average Winning Score 23.33 +2.58
Average Losing Score 10.77 +0.02
Average Home Score 13.50 -0.25
Average Visitor Score 12.75 +0.00
Average Margin of Victory 7.67 -3.08
Average Margin of Loss 14.38 -6.03
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 26329 423880 231134 175067 108 (13.5)102 (12.8)210 (13.1)
Opponent 4171112 5451105 255681 482876 206 (25.8)168 (21.0)374 (23.4)
Head Coach
1968 Player Awards and Nominations
1968 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Dave Raimey (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Phil Minnick (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ken Nielsen (Winner)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1968 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
FL Ken Nielsen
5 All-Division Selections
RB Dave Raimey
FL Ken Nielsen
DE Bill Whisler
LB Phil Minnick (Tie)
DB Ernie “Zazu” Pitts

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1968 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Pierre Quindon (T) Ottawa
2–3 (12)   John Francis (HB) Saskatchewan
3–3 (21)   John Bitchok Manitoba
4–3 (30)   John Sutton Loyola
5–3 (39)   Phil Payne Western Ontario
6–3 (47)   Rivo Ilves Toronto
7–3 (54)   Don Desontis McGill
8–3 (61)   Larry Shields Manitoba
9–3   Pass
10–3   Pass
11–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements