The Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 Season

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 1 1 5 100 67 W1 2-1-1
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 401 300 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 8 0 0 16 267 135 W8 6-0-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 134 165 L4 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 344 230 W2 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 57 70 L2 2-2-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (5-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 8 (3-5-0)
After 2nd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 11 (9-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Mon Jul 3
WPG 43 @ MTL 10 W 10,170  
A
Wed Jul 5
WPG 14 @ TOR 14 T 32,912  
C
Mon Jul 17
BC 15 @ WPG 14 L 22,055  
D
Tue Jul 25
OTT 28 @ WPG 29 W 17,610  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Aug 2
WPG 7 @ CGY 31 L 22,386  
2
Tue Aug 8
CGY 14 @ WPG 41 W 25,210  
3
Thu Aug 17
WPG 39 @ BC 7 W    
4
Wed Aug 23
TOR 19 @ WPG 21 W 25,210  
5
Wed Aug 30
EDM 16 @ WPG 49 W 25,210  
6
Mon Sep 4
WPG 21 @ SSK 32 L 21,531  
7
Thu Sep 7
BC 7 @ WPG 42 W 25,210  
8
Sat Sep 16
CGY 8 @ WPG 22 W 25,210  
9
Sun Sep 24
WPG 18 @ SSK 16 W 19,568  
10
Wed Sep 27
MTL 22 @ WPG 26 W 20,826  
11
Tue Oct 3
WPG 24 @ BC 26 L 20,579  
12
Mon Oct 9
WPG 15 @ EDM 24 L 20,564  
13
Sun Oct 15
SSK 25 @ WPG 28 W 25,210  
14
Sat Oct 21
WPG 3 @ HAM 18 L 33,946  
15
Sun Oct 29
EDM 24 @ WPG 38 W 25,210  
16
Sat Nov 4
WPG 7 @ OTT 11 L 22,780  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sun Nov 19
SSK 27 @ WPG 24 L 19,534  

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 6-0-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.81 -0.88
Average Winning Score 32.40 +3.69
Average Losing Score 12.83 -3.92
Average Home Score 33.38 +7.88
Average Visitor Score 16.75 -3.50
Average Margin of Victory 16.60 +3.03
Average Margin of Loss 10.83 +1.08

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 742195 8451135 532073 564298 267 (33.4)134 (16.8)401 (25.1)
Opponent 254469 324981 272148 5151102 165 (20.6)135 (16.9)300 (18.8)

Coaches

Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Fred Hightower – Receivers, Defensive backs
  • Leroy Montgomery – Offensive assistant
  • William Long – Defensive assistant

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 Player Awards and Nominations

1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Mack Herron (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Mickey Doyle (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bob Swift (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Mike Kuhn (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 All-Star Selections

No Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1972.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1972 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–2 (11) [EDM] Bruce Miatello (T) McMaster
2–6 (15) [HAM] Jon Dellandrea (T) Toronto
3–5 (23)   Rein Enno (C) Toronto
4–5 (32)   John Morash (DT) Windsor
5–5 (41)   Jamie Horne (LB) Manitoba
6–5 (49)   Mario Nardone (DT) Carleton
7–5 (58)   Mark Millen (DE) Manitoba
8–5 (65)   Bill Thompson (DE) Queen's
9–5 (69)   Doug Cozac (HB) Queen's

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements