Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jun 14 9:00 PM
SSK 14 @ WPG 23 W 22,527  
B
Thu Jun 22 8:00 PM
WPG 4 @ TOR 35 L 37,207  
C
Wed Jun 28 10:00 PM
WPG 21 @ CGY 10 W 23,196  
D
Tue Jul 4 8:00 PM
OTT 27 @ WPG 28 W 24,931  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 11 11:00 PM
WPG 14 @ BC 30 L 25,808 CTVW
2
Tue Jul 18 9:00 PM
EDM 29 @ WPG 28 L 25,973 CBCW
4
Wed Aug 2 9:00 PM
SSK 13 @ WPG 23 W 26,619  
5
Wed Aug 9 8:00 PM
WPG 29 @ HAM 7 W 22,647  
6
Wed Aug 16 9:00 PM
CGY 29 @ WPG 21 L 26,259  
7
Wed Aug 23 9:30 PM
WPG 8 @ EDM 14 L 24,962 CTVW
8
Tue Aug 29 9:00 PM
MTL 10 @ WPG 36 W 27,201 CBC
9
Mon Sep 4 4:30 PM
WPG 31 @ SSK 29 W 22,451  
10
Sat Sep 9 2:00 PM
WPG 31 @ OTT 29 W 26,282 R/C, CTV
11
Sat Sep 16 6:00 PM
TOR 14 @ WPG 19 W 27,201 CTV
12
Sun Sep 24 5:30 PM
BC 25 @ WPG 32 W 27,201  
13
Sat Sep 30 11:00 PM
WPG 38 @ BC 27 W 23,345 CTVW
15
Sun Oct 15 3:30 PM
EDM 38 @ WPG 10 L 28,080 CTVW
16
Sun Oct 22 5:00 PM
WPG 13 @ SSK 7 W 19,614 CTVW
17
Sun Oct 29 4:30 PM
CGY 28 @ WPG 24 L 26,781 CBCW
18
Sun Nov 5 4:00 PM
WPG 14 @ CGY 22 L 26,888 CBCW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 12 4:00 PM
WPG 4 @ CGY 38 L 26,868 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 76 86 W2 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 371 351 L2 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 193 186 L2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 178 165 L1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 12 5 7 0 10 256 291 L2 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 115 60 W4 4-0-0

Full 1978 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (3-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (5-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.531 2-4-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.453 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.500
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.656
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.281
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.344
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.531
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.688
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.250
19781977 +/-
Average Combined Score 45.13 +0.25
Average Winning Score 28.00 -1.00
Average Losing Score 17.00 +1.67
Average Home Score 24.13 -0.38
Average Visitor Score 22.25 -1.00
Average Margin of Victory 10.11 -2.09
Average Margin of Loss 10.14 -2.52
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 422264 7047117 384583 4364107 193 (24.1)178 (22.3)371 (23.2)
Opponent 423375 5150101 523890 414485 165 (20.6)186 (23.3)351 (21.9)
Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Ellis Rainsberger – Offensive line
  • Gene Stauber – Defensive line
  • Leo McKillip – Linebackers, Defensive backs
1978 Player Awards and Nominations
1978 Most Outstanding
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1978 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
WR Joe Poplawski
3 All-Division Selections
WR Mike Holmes
WR Joe Poplawski
T Haywood “Butch” Norman

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1978 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4)   Evan Jones (TE) British Columbia (UBC)
2–4 (13)   Bob Stracina (WR) Acadia
3–4 (22)   Vaughan Wright (RB) Guelph
4–4 (31)   Julian Hanlon (OG) Ottawa
5–4 (40)   Dave Neber (DE) British Columbia (UBC)
6–4 (49)   Steve Davis (DT) Bishop's
7–4 (58)   Gord Bone (TE) Manitoba
8–4 (67)   Duane Hysop (QB) Manitoba

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway