Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sun Jun 23 3:30 PM
WPG 16 vs SSK 17 L 3,500  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jun 26 7:30 PM
WPG 29 @ TOR 15 W 31,196  
B
Wed Jul 3 8:30 PM
OTT 32 @ WPG 45 W 33,421  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Jul 13 7:30 PM
WPG 23 @ HAM 9 W 13,945 TSN
2
Fri Jul 19 8:30 PM
BC 26 @ WPG 23 OT L 26,862 TSN
3
Thu Jul 25 7:30 PM
WPG 16 @ TOR 30 L 37,486 CBC
4
Fri Aug 2 7:30 PM
OTT 19 @ WPG 26 W 24,743  
5
Thu Aug 8 7:30 PM
WPG 31 @ OTT 41 L 23,414 CBC
6
Fri Aug 16 8:30 PM
HAM 24 @ WPG 25 W 25,985 TSN
7
Thu Aug 22 9:30 PM
WPG 39 @ CGY 26 W 27,011 CBC
8
Tue Aug 27 8:30 PM
CGY 15 @ WPG 28 W 29,102  
9
Sun Sep 1 3:30 PM
WPG 23 @ SSK 56 L 30,314 TSN
10
Sun Sep 8 3:30 PM
SSK 41 @ WPG 49 OT W 28,323  
11
Sat Sep 14 10:30 PM
WPG 23 @ BC 36 L 41,285 TSN
12
Sun Sep 22 3:00 PM
OTT 8 @ WPG 40 W 32,675  
13
Fri Sep 27 9:30 PM
WPG 15 @ EDM 31 L 30,212  
14
Sat Oct 5 7:30 PM
WPG 21 @ TOR 22 L 32,194  
15
Fri Oct 11 8:30 PM
TOR 27 @ WPG 28 W 30,760 TSN
16
Sat Oct 19 3:00 PM
HAM 14 @ WPG 68 W 27,127 CBC
17
Sat Oct 26 1:30 PM
WPG 20 @ OTT 46 L 23,060  
18
Sun Nov 3 3:00 PM
EDM 28 @ WPG 18 L 24,240  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 10 1:30 PM
OTT 8 @ WPG 26 W 22,799 CBC
P2
Sun Nov 17 1:30 PM
WPG 3 @ TOR 42 L 50,380 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 2 0 0 4 74 47 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 18 9 9 0 18 516 499 L2 2-4-0
    Home 9 7 2 0 14 305 202 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 9 2 7 0 4 211 297 L5 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 10 6 4 0 12 298 240 L1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 8 3 5 0 6 218 259 L3 2-4-0

Full 1991 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (5-2-0) 4 (2-2-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (0-6-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 8 (8-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 8 (0-8-0)
After OT1 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.422 5-0-0 (5) 1-4-0 (5)
Non-Divisional 0.556 2-2-0 (4) 1-3-0 (4)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (3) 0.167
Ottawa RedBlacks (4) 0.389
Toronto Argonauts (3) 0.722
BC Lions (2) 0.611
Calgary Stampeders (2) 0.611
Edmonton Elks (2) 0.667
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2) 0.333
19911990 +/-
Average Combined Score 56.39 +8.06
Average Winning Score 36.22 +5.14
Average Losing Score 21.11 +4.61
Average Home Score 33.89 +4.33
Average Visitor Score 23.44 +0.56
Average Margin of Victory 15.89 +3.72
Average Margin of Loss 14.00 +2.00
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 7854132 6637103 8635121 6085145 305 (33.9)211 (23.4)516 (28.7)
Opponent 295382 5496150 3692128 7356129 297 (33.0)202 (22.4)499 (27.7)
Head Coaches
Assistant Coaches
  • John Payne – Offensive line
  • Dave Ritchie – Linebackers
  • Larry Kentera – Linebackers
  • Urban Bowman – Defensive line, Special teams
  • Pal Sartori – Assistant Head Coach
  • Scot Maynard – Assistant
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1991 Stars of the Week
Offensive Star
  • 1 – Tom Burgess
Defensive Star
  • 1 – Greg Battle
  • 1 – Less Browne
Lineman Star
  • 1 – Chris Walby
  • 1 – Jerome Rinehart
  • 1 – Mike Gray
1991 Player Awards and Nominations
1991 Most Outstanding
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1991 All-Star Selections
4 All-Canadian Selections
RB Robert Mimbs
T Chris Walby
MLB Greg Battle
CB Less Browne
5 All-Division Selections
RB Robert Mimbs*
SB Rob Crifo
T Chris Walby
MLB Greg Battle
CB Less Browne

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1991 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–8 (16)   Guy Battaglini (FB) Ottawa
3–8 (24)   Steve Grant (DE) Simon Fraser
4–8 (32)   Brendan Rogers (LB) Eastern Washington
6–8 (48)   Troy Westwood (K) Augustana
7–8 (56)   Jayson Dzikowicz (DB) Manitoba
8–8 (64)   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway