Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Jul 15 10:00 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 17 L 20,184  
Ex
Thu Jul 15 10:45 PM
SSK 7 vs CGY 24 ND    
Ex
Fri Jul 23 10:00 PM
WPG 6 @ SSK 9 W 10,289  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Aug 2 11:00 PM
SSK 8 @ CGY 37 L 18,000  
2
Fri Aug 6 10:00 PM
CGY 18 @ SSK 20 W 16,000  
3
Fri Aug 13 11:00 PM
SSK 34 @ EDM 15 W 14,297  
4
Fri Aug 20 10:05 PM
BC 10 @ SSK 10 T 16,676  
5
Wed Aug 25 9:00 PM
SSK 25 @ WPG 6 W 22,486  
6
Tue Aug 31 10:00 PM
HAM 30 @ SSK 6 L 17,130  
7
Mon Sep 6 4:00 PM
EDM 24 @ SSK 22 L 17,501  
8
Fri Sep 10 8:00 PM
SSK 28 @ TOR 9 W 20,497  
8
Sun Sep 12 2:05 PM
SSK 11 @ MTL 9 W 19,226  
9
Sat Sep 18 10:00 PM
CGY 15 @ SSK 12 L 15,114  
11
Mon Sep 27 10:00 PM
BC 26 @ SSK 14 L 12,587  
12
Mon Oct 4 10:00 PM
OTT 14 @ SSK 21 W 12,500  
12
Mon Oct 11 3:20 PM
SSK 20 @ WPG 21 L 19,285  
13
Sun Oct 17 4:00 PM
WPG 17 @ SSK L 17,919  
14
Sun Oct 24 5:00 PM
SSK 30 @ BC 14 W 37,788  
15
Sat Oct 30 11:00 PM
SSK 15 @ EDM 12 W 14,000 CTVW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 7 3:30 PM
SSK 9 @ WPG 15 L 21,600  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 276 277 W2 3-3-0
    Home 8 2 5 1 5 105 154 L1 1-5-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 171 123 W2 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 210 215 W2 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 66 62 W3 3-1-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (1-4-1) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (4-5-1)
After 2nd 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-5-1) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (4-6-1)
After 3rd 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-5-1) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (3-6-1)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.539 1-4-1 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.313
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.56 -3.69
Average Winning Score 23.00 -7.89
Average Losing Score 11.71 +4.29
Average Home Score 13.13 -10.88
Average Visitor Score 21.38 +4.12
Average Margin of Victory 10.88 -6.90
Average Margin of Loss 12.57 -3.43
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 136881 193857 411253 325385 105 (13.1)171 (21.4)276 (17.3)
Opponent 284573 532477 131225 6042102 123 (15.4)154 (19.3)277 (17.3)
Head Coach
1965 Player Awards and Nominations
1965 Most Outstanding
Saskatchewan Roughriders 1965 All-Star Selections
4 All-Canadian Selections
HB George Reed*
FL Hugh Campbell
C Ted Urness
G Al Benecick
6 All-Division Selections
HB George Reed*
FL Hugh Campbell
C Ted Urness
G Al Benecick
T Clyde Brock
DHB Dale West

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1965 Saskatchewan Roughriders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6)   Bob Apps (HB) McMaster
2–6 (15)   Vern Simonson (E) Alberta
3–6 (24)   Demtro Rosevich (FB) Alberta
4–6 (33)   Jim Hale (HB) Alberta
5–6 (42)   Ken Saunders (G) Carleton
6–6 (50)   Don Clarke (E) Saskatchewan
7–6   Pass
8–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements