Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 4 10:00 PM
BC 16 @ CGY 15 W    
B
Tue Jul 10
HAM 35 @ BC 20 L 19,731  
C
Wed Jul 18 9:00 PM
BC 7 @ WPG 22 L 18,146  
D
Tue Jul 24 11:00 PM
EDM 13 @ BC 26 W 18,874  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 31 11:00 PM
SSK 21 @ BC 5 L 27,447  
2
Wed Aug 8 10:00 PM
BC 19 @ SSK 38 L 17,210  
3
Tue Aug 14
EDM 11 @ BC 30 W 23,139  
4
Wed Aug 22 9:00 PM
BC 23 @ WPG 19 W 24,443  
5
Tue Aug 28 11:00 PM
CGY 2 @ BC 9 W 29,132  
6
Mon Sep 3 8:00 PM
BC 24 @ HAM 44 L 32,433  
6
Wed Sep 5 8:00 PM
BC 24 @ OTT 26 L 18,674  
7
Tue Sep 11 11:00 PM
MTL 10 @ BC 7 L 30,479  
8
Tue Sep 18 11:00 PM
WPG 33 @ BC 13 L 21,084  
9
Sun Sep 23 4:30 PM
BC 12 @ CGY 13 L 26,238 CTVW
10
Sat Sep 29 11:00 PM
TOR 22 @ BC 22 T 23,400  
11
Sun Oct 7 2:00 PM
BC 9 @ SSK 24 L 22,000  
12
Sat Oct 13
EDM 27 @ BC 13 L 21,377  
13
Sat Oct 20 10:00 PM
BC 14 @ EDM 14 T 20,688  
14
Sun Oct 28
BC 22 @ WPG 17 W 22,013  
15
Sat Nov 3
CGY 7 @ BC 15 W 28,479  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 11 4:00 PM
BC 13 @ SSK 33 L 9,373 CTV
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 69 85 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 5 9 2 12 261 328 W2 2-2-2
    Home 8 3 4 1 7 114 133 W1 2-3-1
    Visitor 8 2 5 1 5 147 195 W1 1-4-1
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 184 226 W2 2-3-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 0 3 1 1 77 102 T1 0-3-1

Full 1973 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-2-1) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (0-2-1) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 5 (1-3-1) 6 (2-3-1)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-2-1) 8 (5-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (0-5-2)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-1-1) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 2 (0-1-1) 7 (0-6-1)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (5-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 9 (0-9-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 3-3-0 (6) 2-3-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.563 0-1-1 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.281
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.536
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.571
19731972 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.81 -2.81
Average Winning Score 19.80 -3.40
Average Losing Score 14.00 +1.45
Average Home Score 14.25 -4.12
Average Visitor Score 18.38 +5.00
Average Margin of Victory 8.60 +1.40
Average Margin of Loss 12.22 -2.51
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 112839 423779 213253 405090 114 (14.3)147 (18.4)261 (16.3)
Opponent 352560 375087 142337 4797144 195 (24.4)133 (16.6)328 (20.5)
Head Coach
BC Lions 1973 Player Awards and Nominations
1973 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Johnny Musso, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ray Nettles (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Lynn “Lefty” Hendrickson (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Francis “Bud” Magrum (Team Nominee)
BC Lions 1973 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
OLB Ray Nettles
3 All-Division Selections
RB Johnny Musso, Jr.*
TE Lynn “Lefty” Hendrickson
MLB Ray Nettles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1973 BC Lions Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1)   Brian Sopatyk (G) Boise State
1–6 (6) [WPG] Slade Willis (WR) Drake
2–1 (10)   Paul Giroday (FB) California-Berkeley
2–4 (13) [EDM] Bob Helman (RB) North Dakota
2–9 (18) [HAM] Cor Doret (RB) Toronto
3–1 (19)   Joe Fabiani (QB) Western Ontario
4–1 (28)   Bill McGregor (WR) Simon Fraser
5–1 (37)   Rudy Florio (RB) Youngstown State
6–1 (45)   Terry Sharpe (G) Simon Fraser
7–1 (53)   Mike Flynn (RB) Waterloo
8–1 (61)   John Quinlan (HB) McMaster
9–1 (69)   Al Thomas (DB) Simon Fraser

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway