The BC Lions 1973 Season

BC Lions 1973 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 69 85 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 5 9 2 12 261 328 W2 2-2-2
    Home 8 3 4 1 7 114 133 W1 2-3-1
    Visitor 8 2 5 1 5 147 195 W1 1-4-1
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 184 226 W2 2-3-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 0 3 1 1 77 102 T1 0-3-1

Full 1973 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-2-1) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (0-2-1) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 5 (1-3-1) 6 (2-3-1)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-2-1) 8 (5-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (0-5-2)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-1-1) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 2 (0-1-1) 7 (0-6-1)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (5-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 9 (0-9-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 4 10:00 PM
BC 16 @ CGY 15 W    
B
Tue Jul 10
HAM 35 @ BC 20 L 19,731  
C
Wed Jul 18
BC 7 @ WPG 22 L 18,146  
D
Tue Jul 24
EDM 13 @ BC 26 W 18,874  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 31
SSK 21 @ BC 5 L 27,447  
2
Wed Aug 8
BC 19 @ SSK 38 L 17,210  
3
Tue Aug 14
EDM 11 @ BC 30 W 23,139  
4
Wed Aug 22
BC 23 @ WPG 19 W 24,443  
5
Tue Aug 28
CGY 2 @ BC 9 W 29,132  
6
Mon Sep 3
BC 24 @ HAM 44 L 32,433  
6
Wed Sep 5
BC 24 @ OTT 26 L 18,674  
7
Tue Sep 11
MTL 10 @ BC 7 L 30,479  
8
Tue Sep 18
WPG 33 @ BC 13 L 21,084  
9
Sun Sep 23 4:30 PM
BC 12 @ CGY 13 L 26,238 CTVW
10
Sat Sep 29
TOR 22 @ BC 22 T 23,400  
11
Sun Oct 7
BC 9 @ SSK 24 L 22,000  
12
Sat Oct 13
EDM 27 @ BC 13 L 21,377  
13
Sat Oct 20
BC 14 @ EDM 14 T 20,688  
14
Sun Oct 28
BC 22 @ WPG 17 W 22,013  
15
Sat Nov 3
CGY 7 @ BC 15 W 28,479  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 11 4:00 PM
BC 13 @ SSK 33 L 9,373 CTV

BC Lions 1973 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 3-3-0 (6) 2-3-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.563 0-1-1 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.281
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.536
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.571

Team Scoring

19731972 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.81 -2.81
Average Winning Score 19.80 -3.40
Average Losing Score 14.00 +1.45
Average Home Score 14.25 -4.12
Average Visitor Score 18.38 +5.00
Average Margin of Victory 8.60 +1.40
Average Margin of Loss 12.22 -2.51

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 112839 423779 213253 405090 114 (14.3)147 (18.4)261 (16.3)
Opponent 352560 375087 142337 4797144 195 (24.4)133 (16.6)328 (20.5)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1973 Player Awards and Nominations

1973 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Johnny Musso, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ray Nettles (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Lynn “Lefty” Hendrickson (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Francis “Bud” Magrum (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1973 All-Star Selections

No BC Lions Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1973.

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1973 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1)   Brian Sopatyk (G) Boise State
1–6 (6) [WPG] Slade Willis (WR) Drake
2–1 (10)   Paul Giroday (FB) California-Berkeley
2–4 (13) [EDM] Bob Helman (RB) North Dakota
2–9 (18) [HAM] Cor Doret (RB) Toronto
3–1 (19)   Joe Fabiani (QB) Western Ontario
4–1 (28)   Bill McGregor (WR) Simon Fraser
5–1 (37)   Rudy Florio (RB) Youngstown State
6–1 (45)   Terry Sharpe (G) Simon Fraser
7–1 (53)   Mike Flynn (RB) Waterloo
8–1 (61)   John Quinlan (HB) McMaster
9–1 (69)   Al Thomas (DB) Simon Fraser

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway