Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
Ex
Thu Aug 25
CGY 13 @ MTL 14 L 18,366
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
2
Mon Sep 5
CGY 20 @ EDM 6 W 11,123
3
Sat Sep 10
SSK 19 @ CGY 22 W 6,500
3
Mon Sep 12
WPG 7 @ CGY 32 W 7,500
4
Sat Sep 17
CGY 20 @ WPG 1 W 6,200
4
Mon Sep 19 7:00 PM
CGY 13 @ SSK 1 W 7,500
5
Sat Sep 24
EDM 5 @ CGY 41 W 5,000
6
Sat Oct 1
CGY 12 @ EDM 8 W 10,000
7
Sat Oct 8
CGY 10 @ SSK 3 W 7,000
7
Mon Oct 10
CGY 3 @ WPG 0 W 3,000
8
Sat Oct 15
EDM 6 @ CGY 31 W 8,000
9
Sat Oct 22 11:30 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 6 L 7,000
9
Mon Oct 24 11:30 PM
WPG 11 @ CGY 22 W 5,500
10
Sat Oct 29 10:30 PM
EDM 0 @ CGY 27 W 6,700
10
Mon Oct 31
CGY 11 @ EDM 1 W  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
P1
Sat Nov 5 4:00 PM
CGY 18 @ SSK 12 W 8,329
P2
Fri Nov 11 4:00 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 4 L 14,500
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
GC
Sat Nov 26 2:45 PM
CGY 15 vs MTL 28 L 20,087
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 13 1 0 26 270 77 W3 5-1-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 181 57 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 7 0 0 14 89 20 W7 6-0-0

Full 1949 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (9-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 2nd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (12-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.347 6-1-0 (7) 7-0-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Edmonton Elks (6) 0.286
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.643
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.143
19491948 +/-
Average Combined Score 24.79 +1.54
Average Winning Score 20.31 +2.14
Average Losing Score 6.00 +6.00
Average Home Score 25.86 +4.69
Average Visitor Score 12.71 -2.45
Average Margin of Victory 15.08 +1.99
Average Margin of Loss 3.00 +3.00
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total Calgary 181 (25.9) 89 (12.7) 270 (19.3)
Opponent 20 (2.9) 57 (8.1) 77 (5.5)
1st Calgary 51 (7.3) 34 (4.9) 85 (6.1)
Opponent 1 (0.1) 20 (2.9) 21 (1.5)
2nd Calgary 53 (7.6) 17 (2.4) 70 (5.0)
Opponent 7 (1.0) 15 (2.1) 22 (1.6)
3rd Calgary 40 (5.7) 21 (3.0) 61 (4.4)
Opponent 8 (1.1) 7 (1.0) 15 (1.1)
4th Calgary 37 (5.3) 17 (2.4) 54 (3.9)
Opponent 4 (0.6) 15 (2.1) 19 (1.4)
Head Coach
Calgary Stampeders 1949 All-Star Selections
12 All-Division Selections
First Team
Coach Les “Butch” Lear
QB Keith Spaith
HB Vern Graham
E Ezzret “Sugarfoot” Anderson, Jr.
E Woody Strode
C Mel Wilson
G Riley “Rattlesnake” Matheson*
T Johnny Aguirre*
Second Team
HB Normie Kwong
HB Harry Hood
FB Paul “Pappy” Rowe
G Bert Iannone

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2022. All rights reserved.

Server: Clements