The Calgary Stampeders’ 1949 Season

Season Summary

Calgary Stampeders 1949 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1949 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 13 1 0 26 270 77 W3 5-1-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 181 57 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 7 0 0 14 89 20 W7 6-0-0

Full 1949 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1949 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.347 6-1-0 (7) 7-0-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Edmonton Eskimos (6) 0.286
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.643
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.143

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1949 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 10,900
  • Total: 46,200
  • High: 8,000
  • Avg: 6,600 (7 out of 7 games)
  • Diff from 1948 Avg: +460
  • Low: 5,000
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 60.55
  • Diff from League Avg: +3,542

More 1949 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19491948 +/-
Average Combined Score 24.79 1.54 +
Average Winning Score 20.31 2.14 +
Average Losing Score 6.00 6.00 +
Average Home Score 25.86 4.69 +
Average Visitor Score 12.71 2.45 -
Average Margin of Victory 15.08 1.99 +
Average Margin of Loss 3.00 3.00 +

Stadium

  • 1949 home stadium: Mewata Stadium
  • Capacity: 10,900
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1948 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 513485 531770 402161 371754 181 (25.9)89 (12.7)270 (19.3)
Opponent 20121 15722 7815 15419 20 (2.9)57 (8.1)77 (5.5)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (9-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 2nd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (12-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (13-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1949 All-Star Selections

12 All-Division Selections
First Team
Coach Les “Butch” Lear
QB Keith Spaith
HB Vern Graham
E Ezzret “Sugarfoot” Anderson, Jr.
E Woody Strode
C Mel Wilson
G Riley “Rattlesnake” Matheson*
T Johnny Aguirre*
Second Team
HB Normie Kwong
HB Harry Hood
FB Paul Rowe
G Bert Iannone

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
2 3
Mon. Sept. 5
CGY 20 @ EDM 6 W 11,123
3 4
Sat. Sept. 10
SSK 19 @ CGY 22 W 6,500
6
Mon. Sept. 12
WPG 7 @ CGY 32 W 7,500
4 8
Sat. Sept. 17
CGY 20 @ WPG 1 W 6,200
11
Mon. Sept. 19
7:00 PM
CGY 13 @ SSK 1 W 7,500
5 13
Sat. Sept. 24
EDM 5 @ CGY 41 W 5,000
6 15
Sat. Oct. 1
CGY 12 @ EDM 8 W 10,000
7 17
Sat. Oct. 8
CGY 10 @ SSK 3 W 7,000
19
Mon. Oct. 10
CGY 3 @ WPG 0 W 3,000
8 21
Sat. Oct. 15
EDM 6 @ CGY 31 W 8,000
9 22
Sat. Oct. 22
10:30 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 6 L 7,000
24
Mon. Oct. 24
10:30 PM
WPG 11 @ CGY 22 W 5,500
10 26
Sat. Oct. 29
9:30 PM
EDM 0 @ CGY 27 W 6,700
28
Mon. Oct. 31
CGY 11 @ EDM 1 W
P1 29
Sat. Nov. 5
3:00 PM
CGY 18 @ SSK 12 W 8,329
P2 30
Fri. Nov. 11
3:00 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 4 L 14,500
GC 28
Sat. Nov. 26
1:45 PM
CGY 15 vs MTL 28 L 20,087