The Calgary Stampeders 1962 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1962 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 38 37 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 9 6 1 19 352 335 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 3 4 1 7 178 177 L1 3-2-1
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 174 158 W5 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 5 1 13 238 237 L1 5-1-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 114 98 L1 3-1-0

Full 1962 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-2-1) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 11 (6-4-1)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (3-5-1)
After 3rd 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (0-3-1) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 8 (2-5-1)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu. July 19
CGY 30 @ MTL 28 W 19,489  
B
Wed. July 25
OTT 9 @ CGY 8 L 13,000  
1
Mon. Aug. 6
CGY 6 @ SSK 17 L 12,362  
2
Mon. Aug. 13
WPG 45 @ CGY 27 L 14,000  
2
Thu. Aug. 16
CGY 35 @ BC 20 W 30,135  
3
Mon. Aug. 20
BC 12 @ CGY 4 L 16,200  
4
Mon. Aug. 27
SSK 7 @ CGY 7 T 11,000  
4
Thu. Aug. 30
CGY 1 @ WPG 26 L 16,059  
5
Mon. Sept. 3
EDM 17 @ CGY 49 W 18,000  
6
Sat. Sept. 8
CGY 17 @ EDM 12 W 15,400  
7
Sat. Sept. 15
MTL 7 @ CGY 17 W 18,500  
8
Fri. Sept. 21 8:00 PM
CGY 36 @ OTT 32 W 16,265  
9
Mon. Sept. 24
CGY 38 @ HAM 21 W 22,109  
10
Mon. Oct. 1
TOR 38 @ CGY 23 L 16,000  
10
Sat. Oct. 6
CGY 22 @ EDM 15 W 15,447  
11
Sat. Oct. 13
CGY 19 @ WPG 15 W 15,800  
12
Sat. Oct. 20
BC 28 @ CGY 36 W 18,800  
13
Sat. Oct. 27
SSK 23 @ CGY 15 L 17,780  
P1
Sat. Nov. 10
SSK 0 @ CGY 25 W 17,780  
P1
Mon. Nov. 12
CGY 18 @ SSK 7 W 9,000  
P2
Sat. Nov. 17
WPG 14 @ CGY 20 W 17,230  
P2
Wed. Nov. 21
CGY 11 @ WPG 19 L 12,500  
P2
Sat. Nov. 24 3:30 PM
CGY 7 @ WPG 12 L 19,175  

Calgary Stampeders 1962 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.516 2-3-1 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.455 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.438
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.679
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.393
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.464
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286

Team Scoring

19621961 +/-
Average Combined Score 42.94 +4.75
Average Winning Score 29.89 +3.89
Average Losing Score 12.67 -0.44
Average Home Score 22.25 +7.25
Average Visitor Score 21.75 -0.75
Average Margin of Victory 11.33 -2.81
Average Margin of Loss 14.17 +1.94

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 361147 3773110 583088 4760107 178 (22.3)174 (21.8)352 (22.0)
Opponent 444387 484593 433174 423981 158 (19.8)177 (22.1)335 (20.9)

Coaches

Head Coach

Calgary Stampeders 1962 Player Awards and Nominations

1962 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Herman “Eagle” Day (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Wayne Harris, Jr. (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Harvey Wylie (Winner)

Calgary Stampeders 1962 All-Star Selections

6 All-Canadian Selections
QB Herman “Eagle” Day
HB Earl Lunsford
G Tony Pajaczkowski
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
ILB Wayne Harris
DHB Harvey Wylie
7 All-Division Selections
QB Herman “Eagle” Day
HB Earl Lunsford
E Pete Manning
G Tony Pajaczkowski
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
ILB Wayne Harris
DHB Harvey Wylie

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1962 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1) [MTL] Harvey Scott (G) Western Ontario
2–2 (7)   Doug Boyd (DHB) Toronto
3–2 (12)   Mike Pettit (HB) Queen's
4–2 (17)   Norm Turner (QB) Toronto
5–2 (22)   Jim Muchi (FB) Toronto
6–2   Pass
7–2   Pass
8–2   Pass
9–2   Pass
10–2   Pass
11–2   Pass
12–2   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway