The Saskatchewan Roughriders 1949 Season

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1949 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 9 5 0 18 235 102 W4 4-2-0
    Home 7 4 3 0 8 87 44 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 7 5 2 0 10 148 58 W5 5-1-0

Full 1949 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (7-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Sat. Aug. 27
SSK 8 @ WPG 13 L 7,000
2
Mon. Sept. 5
WPG 0 @ SSK 20 W 7,500
3
Sat. Sept. 10
SSK 19 @ CGY 22 L 6,500
3
Mon. Sept. 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 0 W 7,500
4
Sat. Sept. 17 7:00 PM
EDM 1 @ SSK 13 W 4,000
4
Mon. Sept. 19 7:00 PM
CGY 13 @ SSK 1 L 7,500
5
Sat. Sept. 24
SSK 24 @ WPG 6 W 4,200
6
Sat. Oct. 1
WPG 7 @ SSK 24 W 4,500
7
Sat. Oct. 8
CGY 10 @ SSK 3 L 7,000
7
Mon. Oct. 10
EDM 12 @ SSK 11 L 3,000
8
Sat. Oct. 15
SSK 47 @ WPG 0 W 3,500
9
Sat. Oct. 22 10:30 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 6 W 7,000
9
Mon. Oct. 24 10:30 PM
SSK 29 @ EDM 11 W 5,000
10
Sat. Oct. 29 3:30 PM
WPG 1 @ SSK 15 W 3,000
P1
Sat. Nov. 5 3:00 PM
CGY 18 @ SSK 12 L 8,329
P2
Fri. Nov. 11 3:00 PM
SSK 9 @ CGY 4 W 14,500

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1949 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.408 4-3-0 (7) 5-2-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.929
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.286
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (6) 0.143

Team Scoring

19491948 +/-
Average Combined Score 24.07 +1.57
Average Winning Score 21.44 +1.78
Average Losing Score 8.40 +0.18
Average Home Score 12.43 -0.57
Average Visitor Score 21.14 +11.98
Average Margin of Victory 17.89 +2.89
Average Margin of Loss 5.60 +0.16

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Saskatchewan 142842 205979 332457 203757 87 (12.4)148 (21.1)235 (16.8)
Opponent 251843 101222 72532 235 58 (8.3)44 (6.3)102 (7.3)

Coaches

Head Coach

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1949 All-Star Selections

10 All-Division Selections
First Team
HB Ken Charlton
HB Del Wardien
FB Sammy Pierce
T Mike Cassidy*
Second Team
QB Doug Belden
E Mike Anthony
E Johnny “Red” Bell
C Doug Brightwell
T Pat Santucci
T Clarence “Toar” Springstein

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements