The Calgary Stampeders 1960 Season

Calgary Stampeders 1960 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 47 55 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 6 8 2 14 374 404 W4 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 212 180 W3 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 2 4 2 6 162 224 W2 2-3-1

Full 1960 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 10 (5-4-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-4-1)
After 2nd 7 (4-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (2-1-2) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 12 (6-4-2) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 3rd 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (2-1-2) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (5-3-2) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (6-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 8 (0-8-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Wed. July 20
EDM 4 @ CGY 17 W 9,000  
Eastern Conference
A
Wed. July 27
CGY 30 @ TOR 51 L 12,692  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Fri. Aug. 12
CGY 15 @ SSK 15 T 13,192  
1
Mon. Aug. 15
WPG 38 @ CGY 23 L 20,450  
2
Thu. Aug. 18
CGY 7 @ WPG 50 L 18,389  
2
Mon. Aug. 22
BC 26 @ CGY 19 L 13,000  
3
Mon. Aug. 29
SSK 15 @ CGY 23 W 13,500  
4
Mon. Sept. 5
EDM 29 @ CGY 28 L 19,000  
5
Sat. Sept. 10
CGY 10 @ EDM 41 L 17,993  
5
Mon. Sept. 12
CGY 21 @ BC 21 T 27,759  
6
Mon. Sept. 19
WPG 19 @ CGY 17 L 14,300  
8
Sat. Sept. 24
BC 14 @ CGY 28 W 13,000  
8
Mon. Sept. 26
CGY 35 @ SSK 45 L 9,512  
9
Sat. Oct. 1
CGY 21 @ WPG 31 L 15,950  
10
Wed. Oct. 5
SSK 22 @ CGY 39 W 11,000  
10
Sat. Oct. 8
CGY 31 @ EDM 11 W 13,500  
11
Sat. Oct. 15
EDM 17 @ CGY 35 W 17,000  
12
Sat. Oct. 22
CGY 22 @ BC 10 W 29,599  
P1
Wed. Nov. 2
CGY 7 @ EDM 30 L 16,012  
P1
Sat. Nov. 5 3:00 PM
EDM 40 @ CGY 21 L 20,000 CBC

Calgary Stampeders 1960 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.516 4-4-0 (8) 2-4-2 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.188
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.875

Team Scoring

19601959 +/-
Average Combined Score 48.63 +7.56
Average Winning Score 29.67 -0.96
Average Losing Score 20.00 +6.12
Average Home Score 26.50 +3.25
Average Visitor Score 20.25 -1.00
Average Margin of Victory 14.83 +0.58
Average Margin of Loss 14.88 +7.50

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 7662138 404888 533184 432164 212 (26.5)162 (20.3)374 (23.4)
Opponent 334477 395998 5052102 5869127 224 (28.0)180 (22.5)404 (25.3)

Coaches

Head Coaches
Assistant Coaches
  • Bernie Witucki – Assistant
  • Frank Filchock – Assistant

Calgary Stampeders 1960 Player Awards and Nominations

1960 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Earl Lunsford (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Tony Pajaczkowski (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tony Pajaczkowski (Division Finalist)

Calgary Stampeders 1960 All-Star Selections

6 All-Division Selections
HB Earl Lunsford
E Ernie “Big Hoss” Warlick
G Tony Pajaczkowski
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
DHB Clare Exelby
S Harvey Wylie

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1960 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Meco Poliziani (FB) Western Ontario
2–2 (7)   John Humphrey (T) Western Ontario
3–2 (12)   Gordon Merrill (E) McGill
4–2 (16)   William Bilucon (G) Toronto
5–2   Pass
6–2   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway