Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Jul 10
WPG 1 @ TOR 35 W 20,784  
Ex
Thu Jul 18
HAM 23 @ TOR 35 W 22,023  
Ex
Mon Jul 22 10:00 PM
TOR 21 @ CGY 24 L 14,221  
Ex
Wed Jul 24
TOR 7 @ BC 46 L 21,995  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Aug 2
EDM 4 @ TOR 32 W 25,991  
2
Fri Aug 9
OTT 38 @ TOR 14 L 32,810  
4
Wed Aug 21 11:00 PM
TOR 19 @ CGY 7 W 23,186  
4
Sun Aug 25 4:00 PM
TOR 17 @ SSK 32 L 20,390  
5
Mon Sep 2
TOR 18 @ HAM 15 W 27,153  
6
Sun Sep 8
HAM 20 @ TOR 6 L 33,135  
7
Sun Sep 15 2:00 PM
TOR 23 @ MTL 8 W 27,214  
8
Sun Sep 22
MTL 16 @ TOR 37 W 30,303  
9
Sun Sep 29 3:30 PM
TOR 15 @ WPG 9 W 17,012 CTV
10
Sun Oct 6
TOR 10 @ OTT 31 L 23,454  
11
Sat Oct 12
BC 29 @ TOR 43 W 22,373  
12
Sun Oct 20
MTL 25 @ TOR 29 W 21,142  
13
Sun Oct 27
TOR 12 @ HAM 1 W 24,206  
14
Sun Nov 3 2:00 PM
OTT 31 @ TOR 9 L 33,135 CTVE
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 9 2:00 PM
HAM 21 @ TOR 33 W 25,723  
P2
Sun Nov 17
OTT 11 @ TOR 13 W 32,304  
P2
Sat Nov 23 2:00 PM
TOR 14 @ OTT 36 L 25,085  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1968.
Regular Season 14 9 5 0 18 284 266 L1 4-2-0
    Home 7 4 3 0 8 170 163 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 7 5 2 0 10 114 103 W1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 9 5 4 0 10 158 185 L1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 5 4 1 0 8 126 81 W2 4-1-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.488 2-3-0 (5) 3-1-0 (4)
Non-Divisional 0.481 2-0-0 (2) 2-1-0 (3)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (3) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (3) 0.286
Ottawa RedBlacks (3) 0.714
BC Lions (1) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (1) 0.625
Edmonton Elks (1) 0.531
Saskatchewan Roughriders (1) 0.781
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1) 0.188
19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.29 +2.29
Average Winning Score 25.33 -0.07
Average Losing Score 11.20 -0.93
Average Home Score 24.29 +2.57
Average Visitor Score 16.29 +2.00
Average Margin of Victory 12.67 -3.53
Average Margin of Loss 19.20 +7.32
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 372966 503989 31839 523890 170 (24.3)114 (16.3)284 (20.3)
Opponent 342963 403474 532073 362056 103 (14.7)163 (23.3)266 (19.0)
Head Coach
Assistant Coach
  • Bob Gibson – Offensive backfield
1968 Player Awards and Nominations
1968 Most Outstanding
Toronto Argonauts 1968 All-Star Selections
5 All-Canadian Selections
RB Bill Symons
T Bill Frank, Jr.
DE Ed Harrington
DB Ed Learn
DB Marv Luster
8 All-Division Selections
RB Bill Symons*
E Mel Profit, Jr.
T Bill Frank, Jr.
DT Mike Wadsworth
DE Ed Harrington
LB Allen Aldridge, Sr.
DB Ed Learn
DB Marv Luster

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1968 Toronto Argonauts Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–5 (5)   Chuck Liebrock (OG) Saint Mary's
2–5 (14)   Jon Purcell (TE) St. Francis Xavier
3–5 (23)   Paul Markle (TE) Waterloo Lutheran
4–5 (32)   Bruce MacGregor (DE) Carleton
5–5 (40)   Bob McKillop (DB) Waterloo
6–5 (48)   Tom Chown (DE) Queen's
7–5 (55)   Terry Gorman (DB) St. Francis Xavier
8–5 (62)   Wayne Gallop (LB) Saskatchewan
9–5 (68)   John Frost (TE) McGill
10–5 (72)   Lyle Dunkley (TE) Saskatchewan
11–5 (74)   Jim Grant McMaster

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements