The Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ 1960 Season

Season Summary

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 47 46 W1 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 14 2 0 28 453 239 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 224 126 L1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 8 0 0 16 229 113 W8 6-0-0

Full 1960 League Standings

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.406 6-2-0 (8) 8-0-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.438
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.188

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1960 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Attendance

  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Total: 138,069
  • High: 20,950
  • Avg: 17,258 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1959 Avg: +107
  • Low: 13,900
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 87.79
  • Diff from League Avg: +14,194

More 1960 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19601959 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.25 0.13 +
Average Winning Score 31.00 0.09 +
Average Losing Score 9.50 6.10 -
Average Home Score 28.00 1.88 +
Average Visitor Score 28.63 2.50 +
Average Margin of Victory 16.64 0.10 +
Average Margin of Loss 9.50 2.30 +

Stadium

  • 1960 home stadium: Winnipeg Stadium
  • Capacity: 19,660
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1955 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Winnipeg 4770117 444892 8142123 5269121 224 (28.0)229 (28.6)453 (28.3)
Opponent 303464 443478 153853 37744 113 (14.1)126 (15.8)239 (14.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 10 (10-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (3-1-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (6-2-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 11 (11-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 14 (14-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 Player Awards and Nominations

1960 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Leo Lewis, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Herb Gray (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Gerry James (Team Nominee)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1960 in database.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 1960 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
HB Leo Lewis, Jr.
E Ernie “Zazu” Pitts
G Cornel Piper
T Frank Rigney
DE Herb Gray
ILB Dave Burkholder
CLB Gordie Rowland

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
B 4
Fri. July 29
BC 7 vs WPG 13 W 12,583
Eastern Conference
4
Mon. Aug. 1
WPG 16 @ MTL 25 L 19,385
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
C 6
Thu. Aug. 4
OTT 14 @ WPG 18 W 15,147
1 7
Thu. Aug. 11
WPG 35 @ BC 21 W 31,837
9
Mon. Aug. 15
WPG 38 @ CGY 23 W 20,450
2 11
Thu. Aug. 18
CGY 7 @ WPG 50 W 18,389
3 15
Thu. Aug. 25
EDM 14 @ WPG 18 W 17,300
16
Sat. Aug. 27
WPG 27 @ SSK 0 W 12,150
4 19
Thu. Sept. 1
BC 14 @ WPG 19 W 18,300
20
Sat. Sept. 3
WPG 15 @ EDM 14 W 19,550
5 25
Mon. Sept. 12
SSK 11 @ WPG 38 W 16,530
6 27
Sat. Sept. 17
WPG 26 @ BC 14 W 30,300
28
Mon. Sept. 19
WPG 19 @ CGY 17 W 14,300
8 32
Mon. Sept. 26
EDM 15 @ WPG 2 L 20,950
9 34
Sat. Oct. 1
CGY 21 @ WPG 31 W 15,950
10 38
Mon. Oct. 10
WPG 48 @ SSK 7 W 10,350
11 39
Thu. Oct. 13
BC 21 @ WPG 49 W 16,750
42
Mon. Oct. 17
WPG 21 @ EDM 17 W 15,000
13 45
Mon. Oct. 24
SSK 23 @ WPG 17 L 13,900
P2 49
Sat. Nov. 12
WPG 22 @ EDM 16 W 17,500
50
Mon. Nov. 14
9:30 PM
EDM 10 @ WPG 5 L 16,708 CBC
51
Sat. Nov. 19
3:00 PM
EDM 4 @ WPG 2 L 18,600 CBC