Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Jul 23 11:30 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 30 W 18,915  
Ex
Tue Jul 28 8:00 PM
BC 15 @ HAM 6 W 10,000  
Ex
Thu Jul 30 8:30 PM
BC 22 @ OTT 24 L 10,000  
Ex
Thu Aug 6 11:30 PM
OTT 35 @ BC 14 L 18,147  
Week Date/Time (EDT ) Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 13 11:30 PM
WPG 42 @ BC 20 L 29,425  
2
Mon Aug 17 11:30 PM
BC 12 @ EDM 0 W 14,000  
2
Thu Aug 20 11:30 PM
SSK 21 @ BC 36 W 29,131  
3
Mon Aug 24 11:30 PM
BC 17 @ CGY 29 L 17,000  
4
Mon Aug 31 11:30 PM
EDM 7 @ BC 8 W 34,273  
4
Thu Sep 3 9:30 PM
BC 23 @ WPG 34 L 18,003  
5
Mon Sep 7 4:00 PM
BC 35 @ SSK 17 W 12,566  
6
Mon Sep 14 11:30 PM
CGY 8 @ BC 14 W 32,176  
7
Sat Sep 19 11:30 PM
WPG 6 @ BC 17 W 32,061  
7
Mon Sep 21 11:30 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 29 L 18,000  
8
Sat Sep 26 11:30 PM
BC 28 @ CGY 10 W 14,800  
9
Tue Oct 6 12:30 AM
SSK 15 @ BC 14 L 25,778  
10
Sun Oct 11 12:30 AM
EDM 38 @ BC 14 L 28,679  
11
Sat Oct 17 9:00 PM
BC 6 @ WPG 31 L 18,184  
11
Mon Oct 19 10:00 PM
BC 45 @ SSK 6 W 7,500  
12
Sat Oct 24 11:30 PM
CGY 8 @ BC 10 W 31,594 CTVW
Week Date/Time (EST ) Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Oct 31 10:30 PM
EDM 20 @ BC 8 L 33,993  
P1
Wed Nov 4 10:00 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 41 L 16,000 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 306 301 W2 3-3-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 133 145 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 173 156 W1 3-3-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 2nd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (4-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 5-3-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750
19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.94 +0.38
Average Winning Score 22.78 +3.11
Average Losing Score 14.43 +3.43
Average Home Score 16.63 +1.88
Average Visitor Score 21.63 +11.12
Average Margin of Victory 13.56 +6.56
Average Margin of Loss 16.71 -0.05
Quarter Team Home (PPG) Visitor (PPG) Total (PPG)
Total BC 133 (16.6) 173 (21.6) 306 (19.1)
Opponent 156 (19.5) 145 (18.1) 301 (18.8)
1st BC 17 (2.1) 21 (2.6) 38 (2.4)
Opponent 48 (6.0) 7 (0.9) 55 (3.4)
2nd BC 46 (5.8) 42 (5.3) 88 (5.5)
Opponent 60 (7.5) 68 (8.5) 128 (8.0)
3rd BC 45 (5.6) 30 (3.8) 75 (4.7)
Opponent 34 (4.3) 22 (2.8) 56 (3.5)
4th BC 25 (3.1) 80 (10.0) 105 (6.6)
Opponent 14 (1.8) 48 (6.0) 62 (3.9)
Head Coach
1959 Player Awards and Nominations
1959 Most Outstanding
BC Lions 1959 All-Star Selections
4 All-Division Selections
G Tom Hinton
DT Urban Henry
CLB Norm Fieldgate
DHB Billy Jessup

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1959 BC Lions Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–2 (11)   Wayne Aiken (HB) British Columbia (UBC)
3–2   Pass
4–2   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2022. All rights reserved.

Server: Holloway