The BC Lions’ 1959 Season

Season Summary

BC Lions 1959 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 81 79 L2 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 306 301 W2 3-3-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 133 145 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 173 156 W1 3-3-0

Full 1959 League Standings

BC Lions 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 5-3-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1959 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 243,117
  • High: 34,273
  • Avg: 30,389 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1958 Avg: +6,686
  • Low: 25,778
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 93.87
  • Diff from League Avg: +11,342

More 1959 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.94 0.38 +
Average Winning Score 22.78 3.11 +
Average Losing Score 14.43 3.43 +
Average Home Score 16.63 1.88 +
Average Visitor Score 21.63 11.13 +
Average Margin of Victory 13.56 6.56 +
Average Margin of Loss 16.71 0.05 -

Stadium

  • 1959 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 172138 464288 453075 2580105 133 (16.6)173 (21.6)306 (19.1)
Opponent 74855 6860128 223456 481462 156 (19.5)145 (18.1)301 (18.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 2nd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (4-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)

BC Lions 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Tom Hinton (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Tom Hinton (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Don Lord (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–2 (11) Wayne Aiken (HB) British Columbia (UBC)
3–2 Pass
4–2 Pass

BC Lions 1959 All-Star Selections

4 All-Division Selections
G Tom Hinton
DT Urban Henry
CLB Norm Fieldgate
DHB Billy Jessup

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 3
Thu. July 23
SSK 14 @ BC 30 W 18,915
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
1
Tue. July 28
BC 15 @ HAM 6 W 10,000
3
Thu. July 30
BC 22 @ OTT 24 L 10,000
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
B 6
Thu. Aug. 6
OTT 35 @ BC 14 L 18,147
1 8
Thu. Aug. 13
WPG 42 @ BC 20 L 29,425
2 11
Mon. Aug. 17
BC 12 @ EDM 0 W 14,000
12
Thu. Aug. 20
SSK 21 @ BC 36 W 29,131
3 14
Mon. Aug. 24
BC 17 @ CGY 29 L 17,000
4 18
Mon. Aug. 31
EDM 7 @ BC 8 W 34,273
20
Thu. Sept. 3
BC 23 @ WPG 34 L 18,003
5 23
Mon. Sept. 7
BC 35 @ SSK 17 W 12,566
6 26
Mon. Sept. 14
CGY 8 @ BC 14 W 32,176
7 27
Sat. Sept. 19
WPG 6 @ BC 17 W 32,061
30
Mon. Sept. 21
BC 7 @ EDM 29 L 18,000
8 31
Sat. Sept. 26
BC 28 @ CGY 10 W 14,800
9 35
Mon. Oct. 5
SSK 15 @ BC 14 L 25,778
10 37
Sat. Oct. 10
EDM 38 @ BC 14 L 28,679
11 42
Sat. Oct. 17
BC 6 @ WPG 31 L 18,184
44
Mon. Oct. 19
BC 45 @ SSK 6 W 7,500
12 45
Sat. Oct. 24
CGY 8 @ BC 10 W 31,594
P1 48
Sat. Oct. 31
EDM 20 @ BC 8 L 33,993
49
Wed. Nov. 4
10:00 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 41 L 16,000 CBC