Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Aug 2 8:30 PM
CGY 14 @ OTT 23 W 9,272  
Ex
Thu Aug 8 8:15 PM
SSK 7 @ OTT 14 W 9,000  
Ex
Sat Aug 10
OTT 6 @ WPG 36 L 10,000  
Ex
Mon Aug 12 11:30 PM
OTT 7 @ CGY 26 L 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 20 8:00 PM
HAM 7 @ OTT 20 W 18,000  
1
Fri Aug 23
OTT 22 @ TOR 17 W 21,566  
2
Sat Aug 31
OTT 21 @ MTL 22 L 22,984  
3
Sat Sep 7 2:00 PM
MTL 16 @ OTT 17 W 19,998  
4
Sat Sep 14
OTT 14 @ HAM 18 L 22,010  
5
Sat Sep 21
OTT 55 @ TOR 14 W 15,845  
6
Sat Sep 28
TOR 21 @ OTT 40 W 16,506  
7
Sat Oct 5 2:00 PM
HAM 18 @ OTT 17 L 17,240  
8
Sat Oct 12 2:00 PM
MTL 17 @ OTT 27 W 18,356  
8
Mon Oct 14
OTT 24 @ MTL 32 L 22,864  
9
Sat Oct 19
OTT 23 @ TOR 31 L 13,882  
10
Sat Oct 26
TOR 7 @ OTT 25 W 12,440  
11
Sat Nov 2 2:00 PM
HAM 4 @ OTT 9 W 16,000  
12
Sat Nov 9
OTT 12 @ HAM 13 L 18,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Wed Nov 13 7:00 PM
MTL 24 @ OTT 15 L 15,000 CBCE
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 14 8 6 0 16 326 237 L1 3-3-0
    Home 7 6 1 0 12 155 90 W3 5-1-0
    Visitor 7 2 5 0 4 171 147 L3 1-5-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 8 (6-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (6-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.480 6-1-0 (7) 2-5-0 (7)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (5) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.429
Toronto Argonauts (5) 0.286
19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.21 -8.71
Average Winning Score 26.88 -2.70
Average Losing Score 18.50 +1.50
Average Home Score 22.14 -1.00
Average Visitor Score 24.43 +1.00
Average Margin of Victory 14.00 +3.29
Average Margin of Loss 3.83 -11.60
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Ottawa 472370 345993 305181 443882 155 (22.1)171 (24.4)326 (23.3)
Opponent 131629 345387 303060 134861 147 (21.0)90 (12.9)237 (16.9)
Head Coach
Ottawa Rough Riders 1957 Player Awards and Nominations
1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Kaye Vaughan (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Kaye Vaughan (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Bob Simpson (Team Nominee)
Ottawa Rough Riders 1957 All-Star Selections
6 All-Division Selections
FW Bob Simpson
G Larry Hayes, Sr.
T Kaye Vaughan
DT Kaye Vaughan
DG Larry Hayes, Sr.
S Bob Simpson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1957 Ottawa Rough Riders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Russ Radchuk (G) Queen's
2–3 (12)   Pete Mitchell (E) McMaster
3–3 (21)   Pete Polecrone (C) Toronto
4–3   Pass
5–3   Pass
6–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway