The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1978 Season

Season Summary

1978 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1978 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 99 58 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 4 2 22 452 301 L2 2-3-1
Home 8 4 3 1 9 193 146 L2 3-2-1
Visitor 8 6 1 1 13 259 155 L1 4-1-1
Intra-division 12 7 3 2 16 291 236 L2 2-3-1
Inter-division 4 3 1 0 6 161 65 W3 3-1-0

Full 1978 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1978 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-1-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-1 (2)0-0-1 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Montreal Alouettes (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (1)0-1-0 (1)--
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)0-1-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Edmonton Eskimos 1978 Attendance

  • Capacity: 35,562
  • High: 42,778
  • Avg: 36,027 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1977 Avg: +10,703
  • Low: 24,962
  • Sellouts: 7
  • % of Capacity: 101.31
  • Variance from League Avg: +4,157

More 1978 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19781977 +/-
Average Combined Score 47.06 1.31 +
Average Winning Score 34.10 4.50 +
Average Losing Score 15.75 3.58 -
Average Home Score 24.13 2.75 -
Average Visitor Score 32.38 7.75 +
Average Margin of Victory 19.60 5.50 +
Average Margin of Loss 11.25 3.08 +

Stadium

  • 1978 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 42,500
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1978 – Opened 1978

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 494594 6693159 385088 4071111 193 (24.1)259 (32.4)452 (28.3)
Opponent 173855 702898 164662 434386 155 (19.4)146 (18.3)301 (18.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (4-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-0-1) 10 (7-2-1) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (2-2-1)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 8 (6-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (10-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1)
After 3rd 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-1-1) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-1-1) 12 (10-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-2-2)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (10-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Game Date Time (CDT ) Result Attendance TV
A 1 Tue. June 13 9:00 PM EDM 19 @ CGY 25 L 22,155
B 5 Sat. June 17 8:30 PM TOR 14 @ EDM 26 W 25,007
C 10 Sat. June 24 7:00 PM EDM 8 @ HAM 18 L 20,056
D 17 Tue. July 4 8:30 PM BC 1 @ EDM 46 W 22,795
1 22 Wed. July 12 8:30 PM CGY 17 @ EDM 33 W 25,277
2 24 Tue. July 18 8:00 PM EDM 29 @ WPG 28 W 25,973 CBCW
3 29 Wed. July 26 9:00 PM EDM 46 @ SSK 11 W 19,587
4 32 Tue. Aug. 1 8:30 PM OTT 24 @ EDM 23 L 25,000 CTV
6 41 Wed. Aug. 16 7:00 PM EDM 40 @ TOR 3 W 49,168 CTV
7 45 Wed. Aug. 23 8:30 PM WPG 8 @ EDM 14 W 24,962 CTVW
8 49 Wed. Aug. 30 8:30 PM BC 10 @ EDM 18 W 42,768
9 51 Mon. Sept. 4 3:00 PM EDM 28 @ CGY 28 T 26,888 CBC
10 57 Sun. Sept. 10 3:30 PM HAM 16 @ EDM 56 W 42,763 CBCW
11 62 Sun. Sept. 17 3:30 PM EDM 25 @ SSK 20 W 21,149
12 64 Sun. Sept. 24 3:30 PM CGY 20 @ EDM 20 T 42,778 CBCW
13 69 Sun. Oct. 1 1:00 PM EDM 42 @ MTL 22 W 54,652 CBC
14 73 Mon. Oct. 9 3:30 PM BC 15 @ EDM 3 L 42,673 CTV
15 78 Sun. Oct. 15 2:30 PM EDM 38 @ WPG 10 W 28,080 CTVW
17 84 Sun. Oct. 29 3:30 PM SSK 36 @ EDM 26 L 42,673 CTV
18 87 Sat. Nov. 4 10:00 PM EDM 11 @ BC 33 L 20,822 CTVW
Playoffs Week 2 93 Sat. Nov. 18 3:00 PM CGY 13 @ EDM 26 W 42,673 CTV
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 26 12:00 PM EDM 20 vs MTL 13 W 54,386 CTV, CBC