The Edmonton Eskimos’ 2008 Season

Season Summary

2008 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 2008 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 51 46 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 10 8 0 20 512 526 W1 3-3-0
Home 9 7 2 0 14 315 243 W1 4-2-0
Visitor 9 3 6 0 6 197 283 L1 2-4-0
Intra-division 10 5 5 0 10 277 311 L2 3-3-0
Inter-division 8 5 3 0 10 235 215 W2 4-2-0

Full 2008 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 2008 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (4)1-1-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-1-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)1-0-0 (1)0-2-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Rick Campbell – Defensive Coordinator
  • Noel Thorpe – Defensive backs
  • A.J. Gass – Defensive assistant
  • Don Wnek – Defensive line
  • Danny Kepley – Linebackers
  • Terry Eisler – Running backs
  • Mike Kelly – Receivers
  • Ronnie Vinklarek – Offensive line
  • Rick Worman – Quarterbacks

Edmonton Eskimos 2008 Attendance

  • Capacity: 59,537
  • High: 48,808
  • Avg: 37,383 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 2007 Avg: +540
  • Low: 29,911
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 62.79
  • Variance from League Avg: +8,609

More 2008 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

20082007 +/-
Average Combined Score 57.67 7.17 +
Average Winning Score 33.70 9.30 +
Average Losing Score 21.88 1.96 +
Average Home Score 35.00 9.11 +
Average Visitor Score 21.89 3.33 +
Average Margin of Victory 12.60 6.20 +
Average Margin of Loss 17.50 5.75 +

Stadium

  • 2008 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 59,537
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 2008 – Reconfiguration

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 5451105 11965184 583896 8443127 315 (35.0)197 (21.9)512 (28.4)
Opponent 9047137 33104137 4753100 7379152 283 (31.4)243 (27.0)526 (29.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (6-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (1-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 12 (6-6-0)
After 2nd 7 (6-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 3rd 7 (6-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 10 (8-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 2008 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 3 – Ricky Ray
  • 1 – A.J. Harris

Defensive Star

  • 1 – Jason Goss
  • 1 – Siddeeq Shabazz
  • 1 – Montez Murphy
  • 1 – Dario Romero

Canadian Star

  • 2 – Kamau Peterson
  • 2 – Calvin McCarty

Special Teams Star

  • 3 – Tristan Jackson
Week Game Date Time (MST ) Result Attendance TV
A 4 Fri. June 13 4:00 PM EDM 14 @ CGY 39 L 27,580
B 7 Thu. June 19 6:00 PM SSK 7 @ EDM 37 W 33,508
1 12 Sat. June 28 4:30 PM EDM 13 @ SSK 34 L 28,800 TSN
2 14 Thu. July 3 7:00 PM CGY 31 @ EDM 34 W 32,706 TSN
3 18 Thu. July 10 7:00 PM TOR 28 @ EDM 47 W 31,707 TSN
4 24 Sun. July 20 1:00 PM EDM 31 @ TOR 35 L 28,522 TSN
5 26 Fri. July 25 4:00 PM EDM 19 @ HAM 13 W 21,402 TSN
6 30 Thu. July 31 7:00 PM BC 24 @ EDM 35 W 35,008 TSN
7 36 Fri. Aug. 8 7:30 PM EDM 34 @ BC 40 L 30,863 TSN
9 39 Thu. Aug. 21 6:00 PM SSK 10 @ EDM 27 W 48,808 TSN
10 43 Mon. Sept. 1 1:00 PM EDM 37 @ CGY 16 W 35,650 TSN
11 45 Fri. Sept. 5 6:00 PM CGY 38 @ EDM 33 L 46,014 TSN
12 51 Sat. Sept. 13 4:00 PM HAM 33 @ EDM 38 W 37,500 TSN
13 56 Sun. Sept. 21 10:00 AM EDM 4 @ MTL 40 L 20,202 TSN, RDS
14 57 Fri. Sept. 26 5:00 PM EDM 23 @ WPG 30 L 29,794 TSN
15 64 Sat. Oct. 4 4:00 PM WPG 22 @ EDM 36 W 40,453 TSN
16 66 Fri. Oct. 10 7:30 PM EDM 27 @ BC 20 W 34,778 TSN
17 69 Fri. Oct. 17 6:00 PM BC 43 @ EDM 28 L 34,342 TSN
18 74 Sat. Oct. 25 3:30 PM EDM 9 @ SSK 55 L 30,945 TSN
19 78 Fri. Oct. 31 6:00 PM MTL 14 @ EDM 37 W 29,911 TSN, RDS
Playoffs Week 1 81 Sat. Nov. 8 11:00 AM EDM 29 @ WPG 21 W 27,493 TSN
Playoffs Week 2 83 Sat. Nov. 15 11:00 AM EDM 26 @ MTL 36 L 38,132 TSN, RDS