The Toronto Argonauts’ 1951 Season

Season Summary

Toronto Argonauts 1951 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Toronto Argonauts 1951 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 12 7 5 0 14 226 205 W1 5-1-0
    Home 6 3 3 0 6 89 90 W2 3-3-0
    Visitor 6 4 2 0 8 137 115 L1 4-2-0

Full 1951 League Standings

Toronto Argonauts 1951 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.472 3-3-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (4) 0.583
Montreal Alouettes (4) 0.250
Ottawa Rough Riders (4) 0.583

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1951 Toronto Argonauts Attendance

  • Capacity: 24,369
  • Total: 122,292
  • High: 26,000
  • Avg: 20,382 (6 out of 6 games)
  • Diff from 1950 Avg: +2,326
  • Low: 16,250
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 83.64
  • Diff from League Avg: +18,653

More 1951 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19511950 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.92 3.92 -
Average Winning Score 26.29 7.55 -
Average Losing Score 8.40 5.00 -
Average Home Score 14.83 17.02 -
Average Visitor Score 22.83 9.23 +
Average Margin of Victory 13.00 9.67 -
Average Margin of Loss 14.00 7.60 +

Stadium

  • 1951 home stadium: Varsity Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,739
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1950 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Toronto 122840 341852 214566 224668 89 (14.8)137 (22.8)226 (18.8)
Opponent 112334 303161 202545 293665 115 (19.2)90 (15.0)205 (17.1)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Game Details (EDT
1 8
Sat. Sept. 1
TOR 36 @ OTT 17 W 15,000
9
Mon. Sept. 3
TOR 6 @ HAM 27 L 15,000
2 11
Sat. Sept. 8
HAM 21 @ TOR 2 L 23,375
3 14
Sat. Sept. 15
MTL 8 @ TOR 6 L 18,200
4 15
Sat. Sept. 22
OTT 10 @ TOR 17 W 16,250
6 19
Sat. Oct. 6
HAM 22 @ TOR 6 L 26,000
20
Mon. Oct. 8
TOR 10 @ HAM 0 W 14,000
7 22
Sat. Oct. 13
TOR 28 @ OTT 19 W 15,000
8 25
Sat. Oct. 20
MTL 11 @ TOR 35 W 16,623
26
Sun. Oct. 21
TOR 35 @ MTL 18 W 12,309
9 28
Sun. Oct. 28
TOR 22 @ MTL 34 L 9,215
10 30
Sat. Nov. 3
OTT 18 @ TOR 23 W 21,844
P1 31
Wed. Nov. 7
HAM 24 @ TOR 7 L 12,200
32
Sat. Nov. 10
TOR 21 @ HAM 7 W 15,000